Adobe Founders to Receive U.S. Government’s National Medal of Technology and Innovation

For immediate release

President Obama to Recognize John Warnock and Chuck Geschke at White House Ceremony

SAN JOSE, Calif. — Oct. 7, 2009 — Adobe Systems Incorporated (Nasdaq:ADBE) today congratulates its two founders, John E. Warnock, Ph.D., and Charles M. Geschke, Ph.D., on receiving the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. President Barack Obama will present the award today at 1:30 p.m. EDT at a ceremony in the White House East Room. The award – the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on scientists, engineers and inventors – recognizes outstanding technology contributions for the improvement of the economic, environmental or social well-being of the United States.

Warnock and Geschke’s initial innovation, a printer language called Adobe® PostScript®, sparked a quiet revolution that democratized publishing and today is seen as an important first step in the mass dissemination of ideas and information.

Building on the success of PostScript, Warnock and Geschke launched the Portable Document Format (PDF) in 1993. PDF is now used by government organizations, corporations and people around the world for universal, reliable document exchange. The company has distributed over half of a billion copies of the virtually ubiquitous Adobe Reader® software for interacting with PDF files.

With a reputation for excellence and a portfolio of many of the most respected and recognizable software brands, from Adobe Photoshop® and Creative Suite® to Flash®, Acrobat® and Dreamweaver®, Adobe has had a sweeping impact on the digital landscape in virtually every medium.

“All of us at Adobe are proud of John and Chuck’s remarkable achievements,” said Shantanu Narayen, president and CEO of Adobe. “Our success and continuous innovation are a testament to their original vision and the company values they instilled from the very beginning.”

Broadcast Advisory
A live satellite feed of the Medals ceremony will be available from the White House East Room. The feed will be a two-camera switched production using both C band and Ku band. For more information contact Barbara Valentino or Paul Mannix at Evolving Communications in Washington, D.C., at 202-333-6195.

Satellite coordinates:
Ku-band 9 MHz Digital
Galaxy 16/K17 Slot D
Uplink Freq: 14353.5 V
Downlink Freq: 12053.5 H

C-band 9 MHz Digital
Galaxy 17/C19 Slot A
Uplink Freq: 6291.5 V
Downlink Freq: 4066.5 H

Symbol Rate: 6.1113
FEC: ≤3/4

In addition, the White House is providing a live webcast at 1:30 p.m. EDT:

About the National Medal of Technology and Innovation
The National Medal of Technology and Innovation has its roots in a 1980 statute and is administered for the White House by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Nominees are selected by a distinguished independent committee representing both the private and public sectors.

About Adobe Systems Incorporated
Adobe revolutionizes how the world engages with ideas and information – anytime, anywhere and through any medium. For more information, visit


© 2009 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved. Adobe, the Adobe logo, Acrobat, Creative Suite, Dreamweaver, Flash and Photoshop are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.




Printable version

View or download a printable version of this article. (PDF: 39k )


Jodi Sorensen
Adobe Systems Incorporated

Cynthia Fetty
A&R Edelman