标签管理的基础。

它是什么、它是如何工作的以及它为何比您想象的更为重要。

随着营销技术的飞速增长,企业面临着每天在其网站中创建、管理和部署更多标签的任务。有效的标签管理对于提供出色的客户体验来说必不可少。但是,什么是标签管理系统?它是如何工作的?它还可提供哪些优势?让我们来一起找出答案。
分隔线

什么是标签?

让我们从基本知识开始学习。网站中会使用到各种各样的技术 — 从个性化平台和聊天服务到客户体验工具和分析解决方案 — 每一种技术均具有自己独特的安装方式和目标。若要在任何给定网页上启用这些技术,必须在需要使用这些技术的页面上部署一个 JavaScript 代码段(我们称之为标签)。每一种技术均需要使用其自己的标签。普通的网页需要几个(有时候甚至是几十个)标签才能提供所需的客户体验。
通常情况下,如果任何一项技术经过更新,则必须更新网站中的标签才能保持其正确运行。这意味着需要调整 JavaScript 代码。保持所有这些标签处于最新状态具有一定的挑战性,并且也非常地耗时。
分隔线

什么是标签管理系统?

什么是标签管理系统?
您的组织依赖巨大的营销技术生态系统来提供出色的客户体验。这些技术不仅在数量上不断增长,而且其复杂度也不断提高。管理和统一这些技术及其中传递的消费者数据是一项艰巨的任务。这就是标签管理器的用武之地。
标签管理系统是一款 SaaS 解决方案,可以简化所有基于 Web 的技术的安装、管理和使用。标签管理系统可以让不怎么懂技术的用户(如营销人员和内容管理人员)更轻松、高效地在网站内部署解决方案,从而使标签管理大众化。因此,营销人员可以自己部署经过 IT 部门认可的标签,加快提供出色体验的速度,而无需让 IT 部门在每一个网页上手动植入各个标签。
标签管理系统的运行方式与其他任何基于 Web 的技术相同:均是通过标签运行。若要安装标签管理系统,最理想的是在所有网页上植入一两行 JavaScript(我们称之为嵌入代码)。嵌入代码部署完成之后,营销人员和 IT 人员通过标签管理器的用户界面创建假设语句即可激活营销技术,而无需到处翻找网页上的所有代码。例如,如果某人在 www.weRetail.com/pants 上点击了“购买”按钮,那么将该特定裤子的名称发送至 Adobe Analytics。
这些假设语句保存之后,标签管理器将注入其他 JavaScript,这些 JavaScript 通过一两行用于部署标签管理系统的代码执行假设语句。
分隔线

标签管理为何对企业非常重要。

标签管理系统不仅可以帮助企业更轻松地在恰当的时机、在正确的网页上部署合适的技术,而且还可以在这些技术之间收集和共享数据,以提供一致的体验。例如,当用户搜索帽子线上商店时,标签管理系统可收集搜索数据并将其传递至分析平台,以跟踪用户正在搜索的项目。该数据可用于获得客户需求洞察。此外,它还可以提供更好的个性化,以帮助客户更快地找到其正在寻找的产品并提升整体购物体验。
标签管理系统可以为您的组织简化以下四个事项:
  • 在网页上安装营销技术
  • 了解受众行为
  • 确定某项技术在页面上的运行方式
  • 收集和分配营销技术数据
分隔线

标签管理的优势。

标签管理所涉及的内容要比简化数据标签和协调多得多。事实上,标签管理系统可提供五种主要业务优势。
1.更快地部署。获得更高的投资回报。
标签管理系统使营销人员能够自己部署更好的客户体验,从而节省时间和资源。这使得与公司内容和客户紧密相关的人员能够以 IT 认可的安全方式按需添加、调整和提升 Web 体验。利用标签管理器,公司可以获得事半功倍的效果。更快地提升客户体验最终意味着获得更多的收益。
2.更深入地了解客户。
标签管理系统可以大幅简化跟踪网站上的用户行为的过程。没有标签管理器,您的公司必须花费大量时间组合每个网页的代码才能跟踪诸如客户点击量之类的简单指标。此外,您需要花费更多的时间才能跟踪可获得更多洞察的复杂行为。通过标签管理器,营销人员可以使用友好界面来确定需要评估的行为,使您的公司能够更快地跟踪简单和高度复杂的行为,从而最终加深对客户的了解。
3.更快速提供更出色的体验。
借助标签管理系统,您无需在每一个页面上植入每个标签。标签管理器使营销人员和 IT 部门能够创建高选择性的规则,以便在正确的页面智能植入适当的标签。标签数量的减少,意味着网页的加速速度更快,这不仅可以提供更好的客户体验,而且还可以确保触及更广的范围,因为有些设备比其他设备更适合于加载更复杂的网页。
4.跨技术收集和共享准确的数据。
标签管理器可为企业提供在 Web 资产上收集到的所有数据以及这些数据的收集方式的单一视图。这使您能够充满自信地了解到您是通过正确的方式收集到正确的数据,同时还可以让您与其他营销技术共享这些数据。可访问营销和广告技术的基于 Web 数据的中央存储库意味着您能够确保可提供优化体验,因为您知道最优体验是由准确的数据促成的。
5.将数据和技术统一到一个紧密联系的生态系统中。
若要提供最佳客户体验,您的公司需要使用可相互共享信息并高效协调工作的营销技术生态系统。标签是信息共享的媒介,标签管理是连接器,用于统一所有已部署技术中的信息,使其同步以提供出色的体验。
分隔线

所有标签管理系统并非生而平等。

第一个标签管理系统于 21 世纪初面世,之后随之涌现出了更多的标签管理产品。第一代标签管理器通过使用模板来简化网站内的标签部署。模板使得不怎么懂技术的用户只需进行少量编码或无需编码即可在网页上部署和配置营销技术的基本实施。用户只需要填写用于配置特定技术的设置和规则的表单,标签管理器即可将此表单输入翻译成 JavaScript 代码,然后将该代码注入到所需网页中。每一项技术均需要使用其自己的模板才能简化部署流程,通常情况下,技术更新需要进行模板更新。
 

第一代标签管理系统面临着两大潜在挑战:

 

营销技术的增长
用于提供客户体验、基于 Web 的技术数量从 2011 年的约 150 项激增到现在的 5,000 多项。随着营销技术数量的不断增加以及企业对新技术的采用率的提高,各品牌都面临着最大程度地灵活、快速部署新技术并从其中获得价值的新压力。遗憾的是,第一代标签管理器是通过构建模板来支持整个基于 Web 技术的生态系统,它们构建模板的速度无法跟上市场发展的步伐。这使得营销人员没有足够多的技术选项可供选择,并且可供他们选择的选项往往都已过时。
 
孤立的营销技术功能。
企业要提供出色的体验,其依赖的各项技术不能各自为战。它们必须协调运行,从而使发送给某一技术的有价值客户信号能够通知其他技术采取相应的操作。遗憾的是,第一代标签管理器注重的是简化部署流程,而不是统一这些产品的协调工作方式。
 
新一代标签管理器提供的是开放式架构,可轻松扩展以适应新技术和经常更新的技术,因此能够解决这些问题。新一代标签管理器构建于允许营销技术提供商随时为标签管理器提供、更新、甚至是添加功能的开放式平台之上,而不是依赖专有标签管理器必须手动更新的模板。营销人员在一个位置即可即时访问所有这些技术。
 
尽管部署标签管理系统的前景似乎并不明朗,但一个出色的标签管理器所能带来的每日价值远远超过其初始成本以及建立该管理器所做的投入。借助合适的标签管理系统,组织可以通过快速部署技术节省资金,提供更好的体验,更深入地了解客户,并通过新一代标签管理器统一营销技术生态系统。有关标签管理系统可为您的企业带来哪些优势的更多信息, 请单击此处,与 Adobe 代表交谈以了解更多信息。
 
若要了解与新一代标签管理相关的更多信息,请阅读超越标签和提供体验
 
 
 
 
分隔线

与标签管理器相关的五大误区。

尽管标签管理系统的优势显而易见,但令人奇怪的是,许多公司仍未使用这一系统。那么,哪些因素阻碍了企业对标签管理系统的采用呢?以下是标签管理系统的五大常见误区以及可反驳这些误区的事实。
误区 1:
如果已使用标签管理系统,则不再需要 IT 部门。

事实:
标签管理器可以减少对 IT 部门的依赖性,但它们并不能消除对 IT 部门的需要。事实上,如果营销人员和 IT 部门能够协调工作,明确角色与职责,那么标签管理将会发挥更大的价值。如果处理得当,那么 IT 部门可以使营销人员更快地部署营销活动、跟踪客户行为并从网站数据中获得更出色的洞察,从而使得 IT 部门可以将精力集中在 IT 事务而不是部署标签上。
误区 2
免费的标签管理器无法处理企业需求。

事实:
市面上的两款最常见的标签管理系统均是免费的。其中一款为 Dynamic Tag Management,该系统拥有 3,000 多家客户,涉及部分全球最大最成功的品牌,包括财富 500 强公司,如 AIG、McDonald’s、Morgan Stanley、Nvidia、Salesforce.com、Starwood Hotels 和 Tyson。
误区 3:
我必须是技术专家才会使用标签管理系统。

事实:
大多数标签管理器的共同目标是让非技术用户可以轻松部署基本标签。在许多情况下,部署标签会涉及到输入一些配置值和定义标签所触发的情形。不怎么懂技术的营销人员甚至都可以掌握一些复杂的任务,例如跟踪访客停止观看视频的时间。它非常简单,只需花少量时间即可快速上手。
误区 4:
免费的标签管理器并非厂商中立的。

事实:
Dynamic Tag Management 和 Adobe 的新一代标签管理系统 Adobe Cloud Platform Launch 均支持任何第三方技术。事实上,与任何其他标签管理系统相比,Launch by Adobe 的厂商中立性更加突出,因为它允许所有供应商以自助的方式构建、管理和更新其自己的集成。
误区 5:
实施标签管理系统不值得花太多功夫。

事实:
开始实施标签管理系统可能会是一项重活,但长远利益远远超过初始投入。标签管理器使得不怎么懂技术的用户可以快速跟踪客户行为和部署 IT 部门认可的标签,从而可以节省时间、精力和成本。请考虑一下花在实施和跟踪代码及供应商标签上的时间,以及在 IT 部门和营销部门之间费尽周折以调整这些需求的要求所花的时间。借助标签管理系统,整个过程可以彻底简化,从而使营销人员可以更快地部署 Web 营销活动和技术、获得更高质量的客户洞察并根据这些洞察快速做出调整。

分隔线

The basics of tag management.

 
What it is, how it works, and why it’s more important than you think.

 

 

 

 

 

 

With the rapid proliferation of marketing technologies, enterprises are tasked with creating, managing, and deploying more and more tags across their website every day. Efficient tag management has become essential to delivering compelling customer experiences. But what is a tag management system? How does it work? And what other advantages does it offer? Let’s find out.
 
 
 
 
 
separator

 

 

 

What is a tag?

 

Let’s start with the basics. Your website is filled with technologies — everything from personalization platforms and chat services to customer experience tools and analytics solutions — and each one has its own unique installation and objective. To enable those technologies on any given webpage, a snippet of JavaScript code, known as a tag, must be deployed on the page where those technologies are needed. Each technology requires its own tag. And a typical webpage requires several, sometimes even dozens, of tags to deliver the desired customer experience.
 
Often, when any one of those technologies is updated, the tag itself must be updated across your site to keep it functioning properly. That means making tweaks to the JavaScript code. Keeping all those tags up to date can be challenging — and incredibly time-consuming.  
 
 
 
separator

 

 

 

What is a tag management system?

 

What is a tag management system?
 
Your organization relies on a vast ecosystem of marketing technologies to deliver compelling customer experiences. And these technologies are not only growing in number, but they are also growing in complexity. Managing and unifying these technologies, along with the consumer data flowing through them, can be a monumental task. That’s where tag managers come in.
 
A tag management system is a SaaS solution that simplifies how all of your web-based technologies are installed, managed, and used. Tag management systems democratize tagging by providing easier and more efficient ways for less technical contributors, such as marketers and content managers, to deploy solutions across the site. So instead of asking IT to manually place every tag on every web page by hand, marketers can deliver compelling experiences faster by deploying IT-approved tags on their own.
 
Tag management systems operate just like any other web-based technology: with tags. To install a tag management system, a line or two of JavaScript, known as embed code, is placed on ideally all web pages. Once this embed code is deployed, the tag manager’s user interface allows marketers and IT to create “if-then” statements to activate a marketing technology instead of rummaging through all the code on a web page. For example: IF a person clicks the Buy button on www.weRetail.com/pants THEN send the name of that specific pair of pants to Adobe Analytics.
 
As these if-then statements are saved, the tag manager injects the additional JavaScript needed to execute the if-then statement through the one or two lines of code that were used to deploy the tag management system. 
 
 
 
 
 
separator

Why tag management is important for your business.

Tag management systems not only help businesses more easily deploy the right technology on the right web pages at the right time, but they also collect and share data among those technologies to provide a cohesive experience. For example, when a user searches an online store for a hat, a tag management system can collect the search data and hand that off to the analytics program to track items users are searching for. This data can be used to gain insight into what customers want. It can also provide better personalization to help customers find what they’re looking for faster and improve their overall shopping experience.
 
Tag management systems simplify four things for your organization:
 
  • Installation of marketing technology on a web page
  • Understanding audience behavior
  • Determining how a technology functions on a page
  • Collecting and distributing data to a marketing technology
separator

The advantages of tag management.

 

There’s so much more to tag management than simplified tagging and coordination of data. In fact, tag management systems provide five key business benefits.
 
1. Deploy faster. And make more money doing it.
Tag management systems empower marketers to deploy better customer experiences on their own, saving time and resources. This gives the people closest to your company’s content and customers the ability to add, tweak, and improve web experiences as needed — in a safe, IT-sanctioned way. With a tag manager, your company can do more in less time. And faster improvements to the customer experience can ultimately mean more revenue.
 
2. Achieve deeper customer understanding.
Tag management systems dramatically simplify the process of tracking user behavior on your site. Without a tag manager, your company must spend a lot of time combing through the code of each web page to track simple things like customer clicks. And you’ll spend even more time tracking complex behaviors that yield more insight. With a tag manager, marketers can use a friendly interface to determine what behavior should be measured, enabling your company to track both simple and highly complex behavior faster, which ultimately deepens customer understanding.
 
 
3. Deliver faster, better experiences.
With a tag management system, you don’t have to put every tag on every page. Tag managers enable marketers and IT to create highly selective rules that intelligently put the right tags on the right pages. With fewer tags, your web pages will load faster, which not only provides a better customer experience but also ensures greater reach because some devices are better at loading heavier web pages than others.
 
 
4. Collect and share accurate data across technologies.
Tag managers offer enterprises a single view into all data collected on a web property and how that data is being collected. This gives you the confidence to know that the right data is being collected in the right way, while letting you share that data with other marketing technologies. Making a central repository for web-based data that’s accessible to marketing and ad technology means you can be confident that you’re delivering the optimal experience because you know that experience is being driven by accurate data.
 
5. Unify data and technology in one cohesive ecosystem.
To deliver the best customer experiences, your company needs an ecosystem of marketing technologies that share information with one another and work together effectively. Tags are the medium to share information, and tag management is the connector that unifies that information among all deployed technologies so they can synchronize to deliver great experiences.
 
 
 
 
 
separator

All tag management systems were not created equal.

 
The first tag management system was introduced in the early 2000s, and more tag management offerings soon followed. These first-generation tag managers use templates that make it easier to deploy tags across a website. Templates enable less technical users to deploy and configure a baseline implementation of a marketing technology on a page with little to no coding. Users simply fill out a form that configures settings and rules for a particular technology, and the tag manager translates the form input into JavaScript code and then injects that code into the desired web page. Every technology requires its own template to make the deployment process easier, and oftentimes technology updates require template updates.
 

First-generation tag management systems face two looming challenges:

 

Proliferation of marketing technology.
The number of web-based technologies delivering customer experiences skyrocketed from roughly 150 in 2011 to over 5,000 today. As the number of marketing technologies grows and the adoption rate of new technologies by enterprises also increases, brands are under new pressure to have maximum flexibility to both deploy and get value from new technologies quickly. Unfortunately, first-generation tag managers are in the business of building templates to support the entire ecosystem of web-based technology, and they can’t build templates fast enough to keep up with the market. This leaves marketers with fewer technology options to choose from, and options they do have are often out of date.
 
Siloed capabilities from marketing technologies.
For enterprises to deliver compelling experiences, the various technologies they rely on can’t work independently. They must work together so valuable customer signals sent to one technology can inform the actions of other technologies. Unfortunately, first-generation tag managers focus on making the deployment process easier — not on unifying how these products work together.
 
To get around these problems, next-gen tag managers provide an open architecture that can easily scale to accommodate new and frequently updated technologies. Instead of relying on templates that a proprietary tag manager must manually keep up to date, next-generation tag managers are built on an open platform that allows marketing technology providers to contribute, update, and even add functionality to the tag manager at any time. And marketers have instant access to all of these technologies in one place.
 
While the prospect of implementing a tag management system may seem daunting, the daily value a good tag manager delivers far outweighs the initial cost and effort to set it up. With a tag management system in place, your organization can save money through faster technology deployments, deliver better experiences, achieve deeper customer understanding, and — with a next-generation tag manager — unify your marketing technology ecosystem. For more information about what a tag management system can do for your business, click here to chat with an Adobe representative to learn more.
 
To learn more about next-generation tag management, read Transcend Tags and Deliver Experiences.
 
 
 
 
separator

Top five myths about tag managers.

 

Despite the clear benefits of tag management systems, many companies surprisingly haven’t yet implemented one. So what’s holding them back? The following are five common myths about tag management systems along with the reality that proves them wrong.
 
MYTH 1:
If you have a tag management system, you don’t need IT.

REALITY:
Tag managers reduce the reliance on IT, but they certainly don’t eliminate the need for IT. In fact, tag management is most valuable when marketers and IT work together to define clear roles and responsibilities. When done properly, IT can enable marketers to deploy campaigns faster, track customer behavior, and gain greater insight from website data, so IT can focus on IT and not on deploying tags.
 
 
MYTH 2:
Free tag managers can’t handle enterprise needs.

REALITY:
The two most popular tag management systems on the market are complimentary. And one of them, Dynamic Tag Management, has more than 3,000 customers representing some of the world’s largest and most successful brands, including Fortune 500 companies like AIG, McDonald’s, Morgan Stanley, Nvidia, Salesforce.com, Starwood Hotels, and Tyson.
 
 
MYTH 3:
I need to be a technical expert to use a tag management system.

REALITY:
A common goal of most tag managers is to make deploying basic tags easy for non-technical users. Oftentimes, deploying a tag comes down to entering a few configuration values and defining situations in which that tag should fire. Even complex tasks, such as tracking when visitors stop watching a video, can be mastered by less technical marketers. Like anything, it just takes a little time to get up to speed.
 
MYTH 4:
Free tag managers are not vendor-neutral.

REALITY:
Both Dynamic Tag Management and Adobe’s next-generation tag management system, Adobe Cloud Platform Launch, support any third-party technology. In fact, Launch by Adobe is more vendor-neutral than any other tag management system, because it gives all vendors a self-service way to build, manage, and update their own integrations.
 
MYTH 5:
Implementing a tag management system isn’t worth the effort.

REALITY:
The initial implementation of a tag management system can require some heavy lifting, but the long-term benefits significantly outweigh the initial investment. Tag managers save time, effort, and cost by empowering less-technical users to quickly track customer behavior and deploy tags approved by IT. Think about all the time spent implementing and tracking code and vendor tags and then all the back-and-forth between IT and marketing to refine requirements for those requests. With a tag management system, this entire process is streamlined every time, so marketers can deploy web campaigns and technologies faster, get higher-quality customer insights, and make adjustments based on those insights in less time.
 
 

separator