Accessibilité

Adobe Originals

Créer des polices de caractères à la technicité et à l'esthétique extraordinaires : tel était l'objectif initialement dévolu à Adobe® Originals. Aujourd'hui composée de près d'une centaine de familles de polices et de plusieurs milliers de caractères individuels, la collection Adobe Originals est une valeur sûre du paysage typographique moderne.

Bref rappel des faits

Le coup d'envoi du programme Adobe Originals est donné en 1989, année où Sumner Stone embauche Carol Twombly et Robert Slimbach pour créer une nouvelle série de familles de caractères pour Adobe. À l'époque, la révolution PAO bat son plein et les graphistes privilégient les caractères numériques de qualité.

Garamond

Cette année-là, les premières Adobe Originals voient le jour : il s'agit des polices Utopia® et Adobe Garamond® signées Slimbach. Réinterprétation des caractères romains de Claude Garamond et des italiques de Robert Granjon, Adobe Garamond reprend la quintessence de ces modèles en offrant tous les avantages de la typographie contemporaine. Polyvalente et superbe, elle sert d'esquisse aux nombreuses polices classiques revues et corrigées par Slimbach et Twombly qui viendront enrichir la collection au cours de la décennie suivante.

Il va de soi que Slimbach et Twombly ne sont pas les seuls typographes à avoir créé Adobe Originals. L'éditeur a également commandé des polices de caractères auprès d'autres célèbres créateurs, dont

Lithos

Richard Lipton, Jovica Veljovic et Michael Harvey. Un programme Adobe Originals a même été spécialement conçu pour les polices en langue japonaise. À l'heure actuelle, il comporte les œuvres de créateurs tels que Masahiko Kozuka et Ryoko Nishizuka.

Qu'est-ce qu'une police Adobe Original ?

Toutes les polices de caractères produites par Adobe n'entrent pas systématiquement dans la collection Adobe Originals. Trois critères permettent de déterminer si un dessin remplit les conditions requises.

Premier critère, l'esthétique. Destinées à devenir des œuvres classiques intemporelles, les polices Adobe Originals se distinguent par une perfection artistique dont les meilleurs typographes au monde sont les seuls à pouvoir se prévaloir. Leurs créateurs ne visent pas une renommée éphémère mais leur utilisation plusieurs décennies durant. Raison pour laquelle nombre de polices Adobe Originals jouissent d'une popularité durable — Myriad®, Minion®, Trajan®, Lithos® et Adobe Garamond notamment.

Deuxième critère, l'excellence. Un personnel Adobe hautement qualifié se charge de créer chaque glyphe et paramètre, assurant une pixellisation aussi précise que possible de la police de caractères. Il veille à ce que les informations de présentation soient adaptées au dessin de la police et à ce que les tableaux de la police soient optimisés en termes de corps et d'efficacité. Les ingénieurs d'Adobe n'ont aussi de cesse de perfectionner la technologie typographique, de concert avec nos créateurs. Année après année, Adobe a mis au point le format de police Type 1, défini des jeux de caractères spécialisés supplémentaires, inventé les polices Multiple Master et œuvré, avec Microsoft, à la définition d'OpenType®. Adobe s'est ensuite employé à convertir au format OpenType les milliers de polices de caractères de sa typothèque, en les dotant de nouveaux glyphes et de nouvelles fonctionnalités.

Troisième critère, la richesse des jeux de caractères et des corps optiques. Loin de se contenter de décliner des polices de caractères dans un large éventail d'alphabets, Adobe Originals prend aussi en compte le fait que l'œil perçoit différemment des caractères dans des corps différents. Jusqu'aux années 1880, les typographes créaient des polices distinctes — aujourd'hui baptisées optiques — pour résoudre ce problème. Du jour où la production de polices de caractères s'est mécanisée, nombre de fonderies ont recouru à l'anamorphose pour redimensionner une police au corps souhaité.

Malheureusement, ce type de manipulation a ses limites. Le dessin des caractères s'en trouve généralement déformé — apparaissant tour à tour minuscule ou gigantesque. Nombre de polices Adobe Originals, à l'opposé, proposent des jeux de dessins de caractères optimisés sur le plan optique, couvrant tous les corps possibles.

Perspectives

Adobe Originals demeure un programme dynamique et évolutif. Actuellement, priorité est donnée à la constitution de familles de caractères de texte courant les plus polyvalentes possibles. Alors que l'une des premières polices de la collection Adobe Original, Myriad, ne comportait que 228 glyphes dans sa première version, Arno™ Pro, sortie en avril 2007, en compte 2 846 en caractères romains et 3 223 en caractères italiques.

Adobe prévoit d'enrichir sa collection Adobe Originals dans les années à venir. Si ce programme est appelé à s'adapter constamment aux nouveaux formats et créneaux ainsi qu'aux dernières exigences typographiques en date, nul doute qu'il demeurera fidèle à sa tradition : produire des polices de caractères innovantes et fort utiles.



Font finder tools

 

Browse fonts alphabetically

 

Browse fonts category

Fonts by Style
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Fonts by Use
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Fonts by Theme
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Fonts by Classification
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Greek
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Font Designers
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility

Adobe Originals

To create typefaces of extraordinary technical and aesthetic quality: That was the original and enduring mandate of Adobe® Originals. Now comprising nearly 100 families and thousands of individual fonts, Adobe Originals are a popular and integral part of the modern type landscape.

A brief history

The Adobe Originals program began in 1989, when Sumner Stone hired Carol Twombly and Robert Slimbach to create a new series of type families for Adobe. At the time, the desktop publishing revolution was in full swing, and designers had a growing need for high-quality digital fonts.

Garamond

The first Adobe Originals arrived that year: Slimbach's Utopia® and Adobe Garamond®. A reinterpretation of the Roman types of Claude Garamond and the italics of Robert Granjon, Adobe Garamond captured the essence of its models while offering all the advantages of contemporary typography. Versatile and beautiful, it would provide a blueprint for the many updated classics Slimbach and Twombly would add to the collection over the coming decade.

Of course, Slimbach and Twombly are not the only designers who have created Adobe Originals. The company has also commissioned typefaces from other award-winning designers, including

Lithos

Richard Lipton, Jovica Veljovic, and Michael Harvey. A special Adobe Originals program was even developed to provide Japanese-language fonts. Today, it includes the works of such designers as Masahiko Kozuka and Ryoko Nishizuka.

What are Adobe Originals?

Not all typefaces produced by Adobe automatically become Adobe Originals. Three categories determine whether a design qualifies for the program.

First is aesthetic quality. Adobe Originals are designed to become timeless classics and feature a level of craftsmanship that only the world's best type designers can achieve. Typically, they are not intended for short-term fame but for use over a number of decades. As a result, many Adobe Originals have achieved enduring popularity — Myriad®, Minion®, Trajan®, Lithos®, and Adobe Garamond are some notable examples.

Second is technical excellence. Adobe's highly trained staff creates each glyph and parameter so that the font rasterizes as sharply and accurately as possible. They ensure that the layout information is what's best for the individual typeface design and that the font's tables are optimized for size and efficiency. Adobe engineers are also constantly striving to improve type technology, in conjunction with our designers. Over the years, Adobe defined the Type 1 font format, defined Expert supplemental sets, invented multiple master fonts, and worked with Microsoft to define OpenType®. Adobe went on to convert the thousands of fonts in our library to OpenType, with new glyphs and features.

Third is richness in character sets and optical sizes. In addition to providing fonts for a wide variety of alphabets, Adobe Originals also take into account the fact that the human eye views type differently at different sizes. In the 1880s and earlier, designers created separate fonts — now called opticals — to deal with this problem. When font production became mechanized, however, many font manufacturers used a single master that was scaled to reach whatever size was needed.

Unfortunately, typefaces manipulated in this way have a limited range at which they look their best. One that performs well at text sizes usually appears cramped at smaller sizes and heavy at larger ones. By contrast, many Adobe Originals feature sets of optically optimized designs, thus covering all the sizes that may be needed.

To the future

Adobe Originals continues as a vibrant and evolving program. Nowadays, its focus lies in creating the most versatile text composition families available. Where the early Adobe Original, Myriad, featured only 228 glyphs in its first release, Arno™ Pro, released in April 2007, has 2,846 in the Roman and 3,223 in the Italic.

Adobe plans to release many more Adobe Originals in the years to come. And while the program will continue to adapt as new formats, opportunities, and typographic needs emerge, its tradition of producing innovative and broadly useful typefaces will always remain the same.

Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.