Accessibilité

Espacement

Les polices de texte se définissent également par l'espacement des lettres, des mots ou des lignes.

Espacement fixe/espacement proportionnel

Les polices dactylographiques sont généralement à espacement fixe. Dans ce type de police, chaque caractère, qu'il s'agisse d'un « i » ou d'un « m », occupe le même espace. Une police à espacement fixe telle que Courier convient très bien au mécanisme simple d'une machine à écrire.

Les textes destinés à une impression commerciale et toutes les polices numériques modernes utilisées sur les ordinateurs sont généralement conçus pour un espacement proportionnel. Dans ce type de police, chaque lettre occupe l'espace correspondant à sa taille, ce qui permet d'allier esthétique et lisibilité. Vous pouvez par ailleurs insérer davantage de texte sur une page qu'avec une police à espacement fixe.

Longueur de ligne

Lorsque les lignes d'un texte sont trop longues, il peut être fastidieux pour le lecteur de passer de l'une à l'autre. En revanche, des lignes trop courtes créent des coupures dans le texte et interrompent le lecteur. La longueur de ligne idéale dépend du dessin de la police utilisée, de la taille des caractères, de l'interligne et de la longueur du texte. Pour une lisibilité optimale, il est recommandé d'opter pour des lignes de 55 à 60 caractères, soit 9 ou 10 mots.

Interligne

L'interligne est la distance qui sépare deux lignes de texte ; il se mesure en points. À l'époque des caractères métalliques, les imprimeurs inséraient des bandes de plomb entre les lignes de texte afin d'en faciliter la lecture. C'est de là que vient le terme anglais « leading » (lead = plomb) pour désigner l'espacement des lignes. La plupart des applications de traitement de texte et de mise en pages vous permettent de régler l'interligne. Lorsque vous créez un document, testez différents interlignes et comparez le degré de lisibilité.

Espacement des mots et des lettres

Vous pouvez également modifier l'espacement des mots et des lettres (interlettrage) afin d'améliorer la lisibilité d'un texte. Bien que les polices soient conçues avec un interlettrage à usage général, la composition donne parfois l'impression d'être trop lâche ou trop serrée. Par exemple, les mots imprimés en MAJUSCULES paraissent souvent trop serrés car le créateur de la police est parti du principe que minuscules et majuscules seraient mélangées. Si votre application autorise la modification de l'interlettrage, il est conseillé d'augmenter légèrement l'espace entre les lettres des mots imprimés en majuscules.

Certaines combinaisons de lettres, en particulier dans les mots en majuscules, ne sont pas très heureuses en l'absence de crénage. Le crénage est l'ajustement de l'espace entre certaines paires de lettres. Il joue un rôle important avec les caractères de grande taille. En effet, plus les caractères sont grands, plus ils sont espacés.

Dans les textes alignés à gauche, à droite ou centrés, l'espacement des mots doit être constant. En revanche, dans les textes justifiés, l'espacement des mots change d'une ligne à l'autre afin que les marges gauche et droite restent identiques. Il est important qu'il soit aussi uniforme que possible, ce qui oblige parfois à utiliser la fonction de césure pour améliorer la lisibilité. Moins les mots sont espacés, plus la page peut contenir de texte, ce qui risque de nuire à la lisibilité de ce dernier. Plus les mots sont espacés, plus la page est vite saturée, ce qui nuit également à la lisibilité du texte, dont les mots sont trop éloignés les uns des autres.

Couleur typographique

Les questions d'espacement et le dessin des caractères ont une incidence sur la « couleur typographique ». Ce terme peut sembler inapproprié à l'heure où les logiciels de traitement de texte permettent de modifier la couleur d'un texte aussi facilement que la taille des caractères. La couleur typographique est en réalité la valeur de gris, ou densité, d'un bloc de texte sur la page. Une page peut comporter des blocs clairs ou sombres mais pour faciliter la lecture, il est conseillé de conserver une certaine homogénéité.



Font finder tools

 

Browse fonts alphabetically

 

Browse fonts category

Fonts by Style
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Fonts by Use
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Fonts by Theme
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Fonts by Classification
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Devanagari
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Greek
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Font Designers
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Spacing

Type is defined by the space around it, whether between letters, words, or lines.

Fixed-pitch vs. proportional

Typewriter typefaces are usually fixed pitch. Fixed pitch means that each character, whether it's an 'i' or an 'm,' takes up the same amount of space. A fixed-pitch typeface, such as Courier, works well with the simple, mechanical design of a typewriter.

Commercially-printed text and all the modern digital type used on computers is generally designed to be proportionally spaced. With proportional spacing, each letter is given just the amount of space it needs to look right and be most legible. Using a proportional typeface, you can fit much more text on a page than using a fixed-pitch face and can improve readability.

Line length

As lines of text get long, it can be difficult for the reader to move from the end of one line to the beginning of the next. On the other hand, short line lengths break up the text and interrupt the reader. The ideal line length depends on the design of the typeface, type size, line spacing, and length of the copy. Generally, a line should have 55 to 60 characters, or 9 to 10 words, for optimal readability.

Leading

Leading is the distance between lines of type and is measured in points. During the days of metal type, printers inserted extra strips of lead between long lines of text to make them easier to read. This procedure gave rise to the term "leading." Most word processing and page layout applications let you adjust the leading in your documents. Experiment with this feature to see how it affects legibility.

Spacing of words and letters

You can also adjust word spacing and letterspacing to improve legibility. Although typefaces are designed with the correct spacing between characters for general use, special situations can result in the type's looking crowded or too loose. For example, words printed in all UPPERCASE tend to look too tight because the designer assumed that uppercase and lowercase letters would be mixed. If your application allows you to adjust letterspacing, you should add a small amount of letterspace to words printed in all uppercase.

Many letter combinations, particularly in words set in capitals, do not look right together unless they are kerned. Kerning is the adjustment of space between pairs of letters. Kerning is especially important at large point sizes. As the characters are enlarged, so is the space between them.

Word spacing, the space between words, should be constant in flush left, flush right, or centered text. However, for justified text, word spacing varies from line to line to keep margins even, and it is important to keep word spacing as consistent as possible, often with the use of hyphenation to aid readability. Tight word spacing lets you place more text on the page, but can make it difficult to distinguish words from each other. Loose word spacing fills up a page with a small amount of text, but becomes harder to read as the words begin to look disconnected.

Typographic color

Spacing concerns and the design of the typeface itself affect what is known as typographic color. This term may seem like a misnomer in an age when even word processors let you apply actual color (for example, red, blue or green) to type as easily as changing the point size. Typographic color is really the gray value, or density, of a mass of type on the page. A page may have light or dark color, but you must keep the color consistent on the page to aid readability.

Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.