Eingabehilfen

Optische Größen und Schriftsetzung bei Adobe

Im 16. Jahrhundert erstellten Schriften-Designer oft mehrere Größenvarianten für eine bestimmte Schrift. Durch kleine Änderungen an Stärke, Kontrast, Proportion und Abstand der handgefertigten Metalllettern ließ sich die Lesbarkeit der Schriften für jede Größe optimieren.

Mit dem Siegeszug der digitalen Foto- und Schriftentechnologien gehören Master-Vorlagen für verschiedene optische Größen nun der Vergangenheit an. Für den Designer ist es rentabler, eine einzige Master-Schrift zu entwerfen, die fotografisch oder algorithmisch auf jede gewünschte Punktgröße skaliert werden kann. Schriften, die anhand von Master-Vorlagen generiert werden, sehen allerdings nur in einem bestimmten Größenbereich wirklich gut aus. Eine für normalen Fließtext geeignete Schrift wirkt beispielsweise bei kleineren Größen schmal und gedrängt und bei größerer Darstellung fett und unförmig.

Qualität ohne Kompromisse

1. Opticals-Beispiel

Seit Einführung seines Schriftenprogramms hat sich Adobe zum Marktführer auf dem Gebiet der Typografie entwickelt. Der Schriftenexperte bietet fortschrittliche digitale Schriftfamilien und modernste Technologien zur Handhabung von Schriften. In dem Bestreben, das Entwicklungspotenzial der Typografie im digitalen Zeitalter weiter auszubauen, integriert Adobe seit nunmehr elf Jahren Master-Schriften für verschiedene optische Größen in Adobe Originals-Schriftfamilien – ein Trend, der sich branchenweit durchgesetzt hat. Vier feste Größenvarianten bieten ein breites Spektrum an Möglichkeiten der modernen Typografie. Adobe-Schriften bestechen in jeder Ansichtsgröße durch außerordentliche Ästhetik und Lesbarkeit.

Opticals

Die rechts aufgeführten Schriftfamilien stehen in verschiedenen optischen Größen für Bildunterschriften, Fließtext, Untertitel und Überschriften zur Verfügung.

Adobe Originals

Minion

Cronos

Chapperal

Adobe Jenson

Utopia

Brioso

Kepler

Warnock

Sanvito

Garamond Premier

Arno Pro


2. Opticals-Beispiel

Schriften für Überschriften beeindrucken durch die besondere Eleganz der Buchstaben und ergeben ein harmonisches Gesamtbild mit dem Textkörper. Diese Schriften weisen dezente, oft liebevoll ausgeführte Details auf, elegante Proportionen und einen ausgeprägten Kontrast zwischen den Konturen, was die makellose Darstellung hoher Größen gewährleistet. Die Mindestgröße für Überschriften liegt bei 24 Punkt.

Für Untertitel werden Schriften verwendet, die von 14 bis 24 Punkt in konsistenter Qualität dargestellt werden und den Haupttext wirkungsvoll ergänzen. Diese Schriftarten sind optisch zwischen den Schriften für Fließtext und für Überschriften einzuordnen und zeichnen sich durch ein verspielteres Schriftbild bei gleichzeitig guter Lesbarkeit aus.

Schriften für Fließtext bilden den Kern jeder Schriftfamilie und sind für Größen von 9 bis 14 Punkt vorgesehen. Die Ausgewogenheit von Stärke und Proportion stellt die angenehme Lesbarkeit längerer Textabschnitte in den gängigsten Punktgrößen sicher.

Das einfache, schnörkellose Erscheinungsbild der Schriften für Bildunterschriften gewährleistet hervorragende Lesbarkeit bei Schriftgrößen von 6 bis 8 Punkt.

 




Schriftensuche

 

Schriften nach Alphabet

 

Schriften nach Kategorie

Schriften nach Stil
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Schriften nach Verwendungszweck
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Schriften nach Thema
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Schriften nach Klassifizierung
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Devanagari
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Greek
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Schriften-Designer
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility

Optical Size

Beginning in the sixteenth century, type designers often cut a series of point sizes for a particular type style in order to form a cohesive range of type sizes. For every size that was hand-sculpted in metal, subtle adjustments were made to letter proportion, weight, contrast, and spacing so that the type would be comfortable to read at various sizes.

With the advent of photo and digital type technologies, most type manufacturers abandoned the design of optical masters, because it was economically more viable to produce a single master which was then scaled photographically or algorithmically to each point size. Unfortunately, typefaces generated from a single master have a limited range at which they look their best. For example, a typeface that performs well at text sizes may appear light and cramped at smaller sizes, and heavy and ungraceful at larger sizes.

A Return to the Way It Should Be

Optical sample 1

Ever since the early days of the type program at Adobe, we have taken a leadership position in the field of typography by merging advanced type technology with state-of-the-art digital typefaces. As part of this ongoing program to advance the craft of typography in the digital era, we have incorporated optical masters into our Adobe Originals composition families throughout the last eleven years, encouraging others in the industry to follow suit. The four designated size ranges cover the full spectrum of usage in modern typography, and provide users with fonts of greatly enhanced aesthetic appeal and readability, from text sizes that are clear and easy to read, to display sizes that are refined and elegant.

Opticals

The typefaces families listed to the right are available in a full range of optical sizes that are intended to be used when setting captions, text, subheads and display headlines.

Adobe Originals

Minion

Cronos

Chapperal

Adobe Jenson

Utopia

Brioso

Kepler

Warnock

Sanvito

Garamond Premier

Arno Pro


Opticals sample 2

Display types are designed to showcase the elegance of the letterforms and to compliment the smaller size ranges as a lighter and more refined version of the typeface. The display masters are designed with subtle and often stylized detailing, elegant proportions, and increased stroke contrast to help give larger sizes enhanced visual appeal. The display fonts are intended for type sizes above 24-point.

Subhead fonts are best for setting phrases in 14- to 24-point type and are well suited for use as a complement to body text. The subhead fonts represent a middle ground between text and display type, maintaining the practical concerns of readability, while displaying a greater degree of delicacy relative to text sizes.

Text fonts are the cornerstone of a composition family and are intended for 9- to 14-point type. Their weights and proportions have been carefully balanced for reading comfort at the most commonly used point sizes for setting extended text.

Caption fonts, with their sturdy non-idiosyncratic forms, are designed for maximum legibility and work best for 6- to 8-point type.

 


Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.