拯救儿童的生命,一次一张图像。


国家失踪和受剥削儿童中心如何通过 Adobe 找到失踪和处于危险之中的孩子

75%

跳出率降低百分比

90%

点击内容的访客百分比

+48%

页面查看量提升百分比

“Adobe 解决方案涉及我们所做的一切 - 从寻找儿童到吸引公众参与,它帮助我们履行保护儿童安全的使命”

 

Michelle DeLaune
NCMEC 高级副总裁兼首席运营官

 

 

2011 年的一个晚上,Steve Carter 在使用 iPad 浏览互联网时无意发现了一个失踪儿童网站。在浏览照片时,这位来自费城的 35 岁软件销售人员有了一个惊人的发现。在仔细查看一张用年龄变化预测技术合成的失踪儿童的照片时,Carter 认出了孩子的笑容和淡金色的头发。

“我感到一阵寒意”,他在 2012 年告诉《人物》杂志。“我说,‘天啊!这是我。’”

Carter 4 岁时被夏威夷檀香山的一家孤儿院收养,但他一直不知道自己的真实姓名和亲生家庭。在国家失踪和受剥削儿童中心 (NCMEC) 运营的网站 missingkids.org 上找到自己的图像后,Carter 说,他终于可以在 30 多年后把他人生中缺失的片段拼凑起来。

“好事真的会发生”,他说。

Carter 身上发生的令人不可思议的故事是一个罕见的案例,但它说明了技术在寻找失踪儿童中的强大作用。Carter 在 missingkids.org 上认出的这张照片是由 NCMEC 的法医艺术家使用 Adobe Photoshop 制作的。多年来,NCMEC 利用该软件对 6,800 多张长期失踪儿童的照片进行年龄变化预测,并制作了 550 多张已故儿童的面部复原图。这项工作在 2014 年到 2018 年期间帮助寻回了 3,000 多名失踪儿童,其中包括 234 名失踪 10 年或更久的儿童。它还帮助确认了 139 名已故儿童,让悲伤的家庭结束寻找。

“Adobe 解决方案涉及我们所做的一切 - 从寻找儿童到吸引公众参与,它帮助我们履行保护儿童安全的使命,”NCMEC 高级副总裁兼首席运营官 Michelle DeLaune 说。“我们已经帮助数百个家庭重聚,因为有人认出了我们用 Adobe Photoshop 制作的年龄变化预测图像。看到这些孩子在多年后与家人重聚,这提醒我们为什么永远不会放弃寻找失踪的孩子。”

NCMEC 法医小组还与执法部门合作,使用 Adobe Premiere ProAdobe Audition 在照片和视频中识别当前剥削受害者及其绑架者。“我们每个月审查 200 多万张儿童性剥削的图片和视频”,在 NCMEC 工作了 21 年的 DeLaune说。“Adobe Creative Cloud 应用程序发挥了至关重要的作用,帮助我们识别受害者,确定他们可能的位置,并最终为执法部门提供信息,帮助他们将孩子从伤害中解救出来。”

最近一个案例的图像中有两名非常年轻的受害者,其中一人拿着处方药瓶。但是,瓶子上的姓名和地址模糊不清,根本看不清。使用测试版的 Photoshop 滤镜,该团队得以执行曾经出现在科幻小说或电影中的魔法,通过锐化标签来识别处方持有人,从而逮捕违法者。

鉴于其任务的紧迫性,NCMEC 接受所有可用的数字渠道和工具,以确定失踪或受剥削的儿童的身份、向公众传播认识和筹集资金。Adobe 自豪地向 NCMEC 软件解决方案捐赠了许多适用于任务关键活动的解决方案,而且自 2007 年以来在图像处理的基础上增加了许多技术专业知识。


数据的力量

2017 年,Adobe 顾问参加了由 NCMEC 执行人员举办的研讨会,旨在更深入地了解这家非营利组织的复杂业务。这次会议为 Adobe 提供了更多机会来支持该组织履行使命。“Adobe 邀请我们使用 Adobe Experience Manager 重新设计我们的网站”,DeLaune 回忆说。以前,NCMEC 使用本地开发的非企业技术来管理其数字资产并与受众分享新证据。这些数字资产 - 失踪儿童的照片和相关证据,未能得到最佳管理,它们严重依赖人工处理,无法很好地扩展,在数据库增大时尤其如此。根据 FBI 的数据,2018 年,美国国家犯罪信息中心收到了 424,066 条关于失踪儿童的信息。

NCMEC 的受众是多样化的,包括个人、政府机构、商业利益、受影响的家庭和媒体。由于数字战略和解决方案有限,NCMEC 很难在正确的时间向正确的受众提供正确的体验。越多的人看到失踪孩子的照片,就越有可能获得和 Steve Carter 一样的幸福结局。NCMEC 之前专注于桌面体验以吸引受众,但数字趋势指出,他们的目标用户使用移动设备作为主要屏幕。别忘了,Steve Carter“找到自己”时使用的是 iPad。

“通过利用每个可用的数字渠道,我们可以在更大范围内传达有关失踪和受剥削儿童的信息”,NCMEC 负责战略发展与伙伴关系的副总裁 Gavin Portnoy 说。“凭借多年来在数字解决方案方面的专业知识,Adobe 成为了帮助我们更有效地开展跨数字媒体工作以保障儿童安全的理想合作伙伴。”

在 Adobe 的帮助下,NCMEC 改变了方法,采用响应式技术,并运用移动优先的方法来交付数字战略和体验。NCMEC 还使用安全的、基于云的技术来满足与涉及儿童的公开刑事案件相关的安全要求。



NCMEC 使用以下 Adobe 产品。

Adobe Experience Manager


结合数字资产管理与企业级 CMS 的强大功能。

Document Cloud



Adobe Acrobat DC、Adobe Scan 和 Adobe Sign 让您的企业省时、省钱、理智行事。

Creative Cloud 企业版


Creative Cloud 企业版为组织提供了他们发挥创造力所需的一切。


梦幻团队


儿童失踪后的最初 48 小时是案件最关键的时期,因此 NCMEC 需要采用资产和站点管理解决方案,以帮助更快地将信息传递到多个屏幕。如今,所有案件信息,包括来自法医成像专家的表单和图像,都被上传到 Microsoft Azure 上托管的 Adobe Experience Manager 资产管理服务并在此集中管理。“重要的是,我们可以迅速为网站更新任何新图像和信息,以最大限度地提高找到失踪儿童的机率”,Portnoy 说。“Adobe Experience Manager 为我们提供了所需的敏捷性,同时利用 Microsoft Azure 增强了数据安全性。Adobe 和 Microsoft 合作所带来的优势非常明显。”

2017 年,NCMEC 实施了 Adobe Experience Cloud,包括托管在 Microsoft Azure 上并与第三方分析集成的 Adobe Experience Manager 托管服务。利用这一新平台,NCMEC 现在可以更全面地了解网站流量、导航、捐赠和参与情况,从而提高其信息的覆盖范围和影响力。与此同时,该组织正在通过所有渠道和设备为 NCMEC 的各种受众提供更好的体验。

NCMEC 还想详细了解哪些布局、内容和信息最能引起不同屏幕上受众的共鸣,从而形成他们的数字战略。通过优化信息呈现,非营利组织看到了一个提高参与度、扩大覆盖范围、增加点击率和网站逗留时间的机会。

NCMEC 的人员经验有限,只能依靠 Adobe Customer Solutions 来帮助建立成功指标和跟踪。在 Adobe 顾问的帮助下,NCMEC 使用 Adobe Experience Manager 构建了新站点,并在 Adobe Customer Solutions 性能测试实验室对其进行了性能测试。该流程帮助 Adobe 和 NCMEC 优化体验、改进响应时间、定义工作负载,并及早识别性能瓶颈。

Adobe Customer Solutions 帮助 NCMEC 跟踪、评估和管理项目成功,并为项目范围和后续步骤提供战略方向。作为 NCMEC 团队的一员,Adobe Customer Solutions 还帮助非营利组织建立了对新平台的信心,并鼓励其采用。“通过与 Adobe 合作,并充分利用跨云技术,我们觉得我们能一往无前”,DeLaune 说道。 

 


“通过与 Adobe 合作,并充分利用跨云技术,我们觉得我们能一往无前”,

Michelle DeLaune
NCMEC 高级副总裁兼首席运营官



“在与 Adobe Customer Solutions 合作的过程中,我们获得了一个倾力帮助我们追求成功的合作伙伴”,Portnoy 说。“我们与他们合作,认真审视我们工作流程和数字体验从开始到结束的各个阶段,以改善每个受众几乎各个方面的体验。”

除了以更新的品牌和用户体验为特色的全新流畅网站设计之外,Adobe Customer Solutions 还帮助 NCMEC 在组织成熟时实施新的功能,如受众细分和用户个性化体验。“我们期待探索的其中一个领域是 Sensei,期望它能通过 Adobe 的 AI 功能来比较这些海量图像,以获得我们目前没有的洞察。”NCMEC 技术副总裁兼首席技术官 Mark Gianturco 如是说。


守护未来


“我们的工作是帮助拯救生命,我们希望找到失踪儿童、制止对他们的剥削,并促进预防工作,防患于未然”,Portnoy 说。2019 年,NCMEC 重新启动了他们的 NetSmartz 计划,通过测验、音乐、视频和动画向孩子们传授网络安全、网络欺凌和个人安全方面的知识。该计划旨在推动儿童安全进入数字时代。

NCMEC 使用 Adobe Creative Cloud 应用程序来设计、制作和分发这些教育材料。动画角色在 Adobe AnimateAdobe Character AnimatorAdobe After Effects 中进行动画处理,而视频编辑人员在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中对场景进行剪切和组织。 成品随后被放置在 Adobe Experience Manager 中并分发给公众。“我们的预防计划基于真实情况,但是通过以一种有趣且适合孩子年龄的方式提供课程,我们可以帮助孩子学会注意安全”,DeLaune 说道。





永远不要放弃希望

据 Portnoy 称,Adobe 提供的更改是即时的,而不是渐进式的。“这是变革性的,”他说,“我们为许多不同类型的用户和各种输出设备提供服务,包括移动电话,过去我们在这方面做得并不好。我们希望能通过一些机制来最大程度地发挥我们筹款工作的作用,并能够应用分析。AEM 在所有这些方面都处于非常高的水平。”

“在使用 Adobe 之前,我们的跳出率约为 80%。新网站的跳出率为 20%。这说明我们做对了。这对我们十分有利。”Portnoy 说。“在结束一天的工作时,这里的每个人都可以昂首挺胸地说,他们真的改变了这个世界。”

总的来说,NCMEC 也提升了在线参与度,90% 的网站访客会点击内容。借助 Adobe Experience Manager,NCMEC 前三个月将整个网站的页面查看量增加了 47.9%。与此同时,加强筹款工作使 missingkids.org 网站上捐款和筹款页面的访问量增加了 218%。更多的资金和更多的流量意味着更多人有更大的机会与他们失去的亲人重聚,就像来自夏威夷的 Steve Carter 一样。

在 missingkids.org 网站上看到自己的照片后不久,Carter 就联系了檀香山警察局,随后的 DNA 测试证实了他的身份:他就是失踪儿童 Marx Panama。Carter 决定通过电话联系他新找到的亲人。首先,他联系了自己的父亲 Mark Barnes。1977 年 6 月 21 日,他父亲的女友带着他们六个月大的儿子去了一家商店,之后就再也没有回来。第一次听到儿子的声音时,Barnes 激动得说不出话。

“我只会说,‘哇!哦,哇!哇!’”

对于 DeLaune 来说,这项工作永远不会结束。“我们绝不会停止寻找失踪的孩子。确保在适当的监管下获得正确的信息,帮助这些家庭把他们的孩子带回家,这是我们的工作。”


更多客户成功


让我们讨论 Adobe Experience Cloud 如何助您的企业一臂之力。

Saving children’s lives, one image at a time.


How the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children partners with Adobe to help find missing and at-risk kids

75%

bounce rate reduction

90%

of visitors click on content

+48%

page views

“Adobe solutions touch everything that we do—from finding children to engaging the public—and it helps us fulfill our mission of keeping children safe”

 

Michelle DeLaune
Senior VP and COO, NCMEC

 

 

One evening in 2011, Steve Carter was browsing the Internet on his iPad when he came across a missing children’s website. Scrolling through the photographs, the 35-year-old software salesperson from Philadelphia made an astonishing discovery. When Carter looked closely at a composite picture of a missing child — created using age-progression technology — he recognized the kid’s smile and sandy-blond hair.

“I got chills,” he told People in 2012. “I was like, ‘Holy crap, it’s me.’”

Carter had known that he was adopted at age 4 from an orphanage in Honolulu, Hawaii, but never knew his real name or biological family. After finding his image on missingkids.org, run by the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children (NCMEC), Carter said he could finally put together the missing pieces of his life, more than 30 years later.

“Good things do happen,” he said. 

Carter’s amazing story is a rare case, but it illustrates the powerful role of technology in the search for missing children. The picture that Carter recognized on missingkids.org was created by NCMEC’s forensic artists using Adobe Photoshop. Over the years, NCMEC has used the software to age-progress more than 6,800 images of long-term missing children and created more than 550 facial reconstructions of deceased children. This work has aided the recovery of more than 3,000 lost children between 2014 and 2018, including 234 that had been missing for 10 years or more. It has also assisted in identifying 139 deceased children, providing much-needed closure to grieving families. 

“Adobe solutions touch everything that we do — from finding children to engaging the public — and it helps us fulfill our mission of keeping children safe,” said Michelle DeLaune, Senior VP and COO of NCMEC. “We’ve helped to reunite hundreds of families because someone recognized age-progressed images we created using Adobe Photoshop. Seeing those children reunited with their families years later reminds us why we will never give up on finding our missing children.”

The NCMEC forensic team also works with law enforcement to identify current victims of exploitation and their captors in photos and video footage, using Adobe Premiere Pro and Adobe Audition. “We review more than two million images and videos of child sexual exploitation every month,” says DeLaune, who is in her 21st year at NCMEC. “Adobe Creative Cloud apps play an essential role in helping us identify victims, determine their possible locations, and ultimately provide law enforcement with information that can help them rescue a child from harm.”

One recent case involved an image of two very young victims — one was holding a prescription pill bottle. However, the name and address on the bottle were blurry and impossible to read. Using a new Photoshop filter in beta, the team was able to perform what was once the stuff of science fiction or movie magic, sharpening the label to identify the prescription holder, leading to the apprehension of the offender. 

Given the urgency of its mission, NCMEC embraces all available digital channels and tools to identify missing or exploited children, spread awareness with the public, and raise money. Adobe has proudly donated to NCMEC software solutions for many mission-critical activities, and since 2007, has added technical expertise that goes far beyond image manipulation.


The power of data
 

In 2017, Adobe consultants participated in a seminar presented by NCMEC executives to gain a deeper understanding of the non-profit’s complex business. This meeting uncovered additional opportunities for Adobe to support the organization’s mission. “Adobe approached us to redesign our website using Adobe Experience Manager,” recalled DeLaune. Previously, NCMEC was using home-grown, non-enterprise technologies to manage their digital assets and to share new evidence with their audiences. These digital assets — pictures of missing children and related evidence — were not managed optimally, relying heavily on manual processes that could not scale well, especially as the database grew. According to the FBI, in 2018 there were 424,066 entries for missing children submitted to its National Crime Information Center. 

NCMEC’s audiences are diverse — including individuals, government agencies, commercial interests, impacted families, and media. With a limited digital strategy and solutions, NCMEC had difficulty delivering the right experience to the right audiences at the right time. And the more people that see a missing child’s photograph, the higher the chances of a happy ending like Steve Carter’s. NCMEC had previously focused on desktop experiences to engage with audiences, yet digital trends indicated that their target audience uses mobile devices as their primary screen. Remember, Steve Carter was using his iPad when he ‘found himself.’

“By taking advantage of every digital channel available, we can communicate messages about missing and exploited children on a much wider scale,” says Gavin Portnoy, Vice President of Strategic Advancement & Partnerships at NCMEC. “With years of expertise in digital solutions, Adobe is an ideal partner to help us work more effectively across digital mediums to keep children safe.”

With Adobe’s help, NCMEC shifted its approach, adopted responsive technologies, and took a mobile-first approach to their digital strategies and experiences. NCMEC also used secure, cloud-based technologies to meet the security requirements associated with open criminal cases involving children.



NCMEC uses these Adobe products.

Adobe Experience Manager


Combine digital asset management with the power of an enterprise-ready CMS.

Document Cloud



Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Scan, and Adobe Sign save your enterprise time, money, and sanity.

Creative Cloud for Enterprise


Creative Cloud for enterprise gives organizations everything they need to harness the power of creativity.


The dream team


The first 48 hours after a child has gone missing are the most critical for a case, so NCMEC needed to adopt asset and site management solutions to help deliver information to multiple screens faster. Today, all case information, including forms and images from the forensic imaging specialists, are uploaded and centrally managed on Adobe Experience Manager Assets Managed Services hosted on Microsoft Azure. “It’s important that we can update the website with any new images and information that we receive quickly to maximize our chance to find a missing child,” says Portnoy. “Adobe Experience Manager gives us the agility we need, while leveraging Microsoft Azure enhances data security. Taking advantage of the Adobe and Microsoft partnership was a no brainer.”

In 2017 NCMEC implemented Adobe Experience Cloud, including Adobe Experience Manager Managed Services, hosted on Microsoft Azure and integrated with third-party analytics. Using this new platform, NCMEC now has greater visibility into website traffic, navigation, donations, and engagement, to improve the reach and impact of its information. Meanwhile, the organization is delivering better experiences across all channels and devices for NCMEC’s various audiences.

NCMEC also wanted to learn more about what layouts, content, and information best resonate with audiences across different screens to shape their digital strategies. By presenting information optimally, the non-profit saw an opportunity to boost engagement and expand its reach, increase clicks and time spent on site.

Having limited expertise on-staff, NCMEC relied on Adobe Customer Solutions to help establish success metrics and tracking. With Adobe consultants on hand, NCMEC built their new site using Adobe Experience Manager and performance-tested it in the Adobe Customer Solutions Performance Test Lab. This process helped Adobe and NCMEC refine the experience, improve response time, define workloads, and identify performance bottlenecks early on. 

Adobe Customer Solutions helped NCMEC to track, measure, and manage project success, and provided strategic direction on the project’s scope and next steps. Being embedded within the NCMEC team, Adobe Customer Solutions also helped to build the non-profit’s confidence in the new platform and encourage adoption. “With Adobe as a partner, and leveraging cross-cloud technologies, we feel like the sky’s the limit with what we can achieve,” said DeLaune. 

 


“With Adobe as a partner, and leveraging cross-cloud technologies, we feel like the sky’s the limit with what we can achieve.”

 

Michelle DeLaune
Senior VP and COO, NCMEC



“Working with Adobe Customer Solutions, we had an all-in partner that was fully invested in our success,” says Portnoy. “We worked with them to take a hard look at all phases of our workflows and digital experiences, from start to finish, to improve virtually every aspect of each audience’s experience.”

Alongside a new fluid website design that features updated branding and user experiences, Adobe Customer Solutions also helped NCMEC implement new functionality as the organization matures, such as audience segmentation and persona-driven customer experiences. “One of the areas that we're looking forward to exploring is Sensei, to be able to compare these massive numbers of images through Adobe’s AI capabilities to gain insights that we don't currently have,” said Gavin Portnoy.

When faster documents really matter 

 

Every moment NCMEC saves in their daily operations gives them more time to devote to their mission. But over three decades after their founding, the organization was still relying on old document processes that slowed them down. “We had a lot of paper. A lot of paper,” says Portnoy. 

The move to Adobe Acrobat was an important step forward. Having been a paper-oriented organization since 1984, NCMEC had gotten used to printing, scanning, faxing, and filing hard copies of documents. Coupled with the storage and maintenance of paper files, the old way of handling documents simply wasn’t serving the organization any longer. With Acrobat, NCMEC could easily and confidently share important files back and forth amongst stakeholders. And because PDFs are compliant with the Section 508 Amendment to the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the organization could now make their documents available to people of diverse abilities.


To keep up the momentum they’d achieved with Acrobat, NCMEC also decided to implement Adobe Sign. On a weekly basis, NCMEC has a wide variety of critical documents that need legal signatures, such as image releases, contracts, and HR paperwork. As they reevaluated their relationship with digital documents, the organization had been using a mix of e-signature software and traditional ink signatures. Moving to Adobe Sign smoothed out all the bumps in their former workflow, making it quicker and easier to get the signatures they needed. For NCMEC staff, but more importantly, for parents of missing children, this smoother process removed the frustrations of digital signing and gave everyone time back in their day.


Protecting the future


“We are in the business of helping save lives, we want to find missing kids, stop exploitation, and promote prevention so it doesn’t happen in the first place,” said Portnoy. In 2019, NCMEC re-launched their NetSmartz program to teach children about online safety, cyberbullying, and personal safety through quizzes, music, videos, and animations. The program was designed to bring child safety into the digital age. 

NCMEC uses Adobe Creative Cloud apps to design, produce, and distribute these educational materials. Cartoon characters are animated in Adobe Animate, Adobe Character Animator, and Adobe After Effects, and video editors cut and organize the scenes in Adobe Premiere Pro. The finished products are then housed on Adobe Experience Manager and distributed to the public. “Our prevention programs are based on real situations, but by presenting lessons in a fun, age-appropriate way, we can help children learn to stay safe,” says DeLaune.





Never giving up on hope
 

According to Portnoy, Adobe provided change that was instant, not incremental. “It’s been transformative,” he said. “We’re serving a number of different types of users and a variety of output devices, including mobile cell phones, which we didn’t do well in the past. And we want to be able to have mechanisms to maximize our fundraising efforts, and to be able to apply analytics. AEM does all of those things at a very high level.”

“Prior to having Adobe we had about an 80% bounce rate. The bounce rate of the new site is 20%. So that tells me that we did something right. This is very good for us,” said Portnoy. “At the end of the day, every single person here can hold their head high and say that they’ve truly made a difference in this world.” 

Overall, NCMEC also boosted online engagement, with 90% of website visitors clicking on content. With Adobe Experience Manager, NCMEC increased total website page views by 47.9% in the first three months. Meanwhile, enhanced fundraising efforts drove 218% more traffic to donation and fundraising pages on missingkids.org. More funds and more traffic means a greater chance for more people to be reunited with their lost loved ones, like Steve Carter, from Hawaii.

Soon after finding his image on missingkids.org, Carter contacted the Honolulu Police Department, and later, a DNA test confirmed his identity: he was the missing child Marx Panama. Carter decided to contact his newfound relatives over the phone. First, he reached his father, Mark Barnes, whose girlfriend had gone to the store with their six-month-old son on June 21, 1977, and never returned. When he heard his son’s voice for the first time, Barnes was speechless.

“All I could say was, ‘Wow. Oh, wow. Wow.’”

For DeLaune, the job is never over. “We never stop looking for a missing child. It’s our job to make sure we get the right information in front of the right eyes to help these families bring their children home.”


More customer success


Let's talk about what Adobe Experience Cloud can do for your business.