Top of page
Managing files and folders

Acrobat Reader allows you to easily do the following:

You can also Manage connectors and cloud storage workflows with Document Cloud, Dropbox, and so on.

Creating folders

There are two ways to create folders:

  1. Open My Documents.
  2. Tap Local or Document Cloud.
    • On phones, tap and then tap New Folder.
    • On tablets, tap .
  3. Enter a name.
  4. Tap Create folder.

Moving files

Note: Create the destination folder ahead of time.

  1. Open My Documents.
  2. Tap Local or Document Cloud.
    • On phones, tap and then tap Select.
    • On tablets, tap in the upper right.
  3. Select one or more files.
  4. Tap .
  5. Tap Move.
  6. Tap a folder.
  7. Tap Move.
Move file workflow

Copying files

Local files can be copied (duplicated) on your device:

  1. Open My Documents.
  2. Tap Local.
    • On phones, tap and then tap Select.
    • On tablets, tap in the upper right.
  3. Select one or more files.
  4. Tap .
  5. Tap Duplicate.

The file is automatically duplicated and can now be renamed. Document Cloud files cannot be copied on the device.

Renaming files

  1. Open My Documents.
  2. Tap Local or Document Cloud.
    • On phones, tap and then tap Select.
    • On tablets, tap in the upper right.
  3. Select a file.
  4. Tap .
  5. Enter a name.
  6. Tap Rename.

Deleting files

  1. Open My Documents.
  2. Tap Local or Document Cloud.
    • On phones, tap and then tap Select.
    • On tablets, tap in the upper right.
  3. Select one or more files.
  4. Tap .
  5. Tap Delete.

Saving files locally

To save files locally to your device:

Saving file changes

Changes are always saved when you close the file and return to My Documents. If you are logged in to Document Cloud, your file is automatically placed in Acrobat Reader's Outbox and uploaded to Document Cloud (see above).

Backing up files

Always backup your local files before uninstalling Acrobat.

Backing up your files involves syncing your device to your computer. Files retrieved from Document Cloud are always automatically saved back to the cloud if you are logged in to the service.