Accessibilité

Conseils pratiques

Puces

Un élément graphique, utilisé de façon systématique, peut rendre un document plus percutant et mettre en valeur les points importants. Pour trouver un style de puce adapté à votre texte, passez en revue les symboles de la vue Classifications. Si votre document est simple et net et qu'il comporte peu d'éléments à puce, un ornement enrichira le document. Veillez cependant à ne pas surcharger le document.

Alinéa en sommaire

  • Lorsqu'une liste à puces ou numérotée comporte des éléments sur plusieurs lignes, il est courant d'appliquer un retrait au texte. Il est également possible d'appliquer ce type de retrait à la première ligne d'un texte, même s'il ne s'agit pas d'une liste, en l'accompagnant, éventuellement, d'un sous-titre en gras ou en italique. Dans les deux cas, l'alinéa en sommaire identifie plus clairement l'élément de la liste.
  1. Lorsqu'une liste à puce ou numérotée comporte des éléments sur plusieurs lignes, il est courant d'appliquer un retrait au texte. Il est également possible d'appliquer ce type de retrait à la première ligne d'un texte, même s'il ne s'agit pas d'une liste, en l'accompagnant, éventuellement, d'un sous-titre en gras ou en italique. Dans les deux cas, l'alinéa en sommaire identifie plus clairement l'élément de la liste.
Lorsqu'une liste à puce ou numérotée
comporte des éléments sur plusieurs lignes, il est courant d'appliquer un retrait au texte. Il est également possible d'appliquer ce type de retrait à la première ligne d'un texte, même s'il ne s'agit pas d'une liste, en l'accompagnant, éventuellement, d'un sous-titre en gras ou en italique. Dans les deux cas, l'alinéa en sommaire identifie plus clairement l'élément de la liste.

Texte en négatif

Les caractères blancs sur fond noir sont à utiliser avec parcimonie et jamais dans un corps réduit.

Utilisation des styles

Les styles sont des descripteurs de paragraphe qui spécifient, par exemple, la police de caractères et le retrait à appliquer. Si votre application de P.A.O. gère les styles, vous pouvez en créer un jeu que vous appliquerez à tous vos documents pour garantir une présentation homogène.

Il suffit par ailleurs de changer les définitions des styles pour modifier l'aspect d'un document.

Simplicité

Bon sens et simplicité sont les deux principales conditions d'un document bien présenté. Examinez des documents attrayants, similaires à celui que vous souhaitez produire. Vous trouverez ci-après un certain nombre de principes fondamentaux.

  • Les lignes très longues sont difficiles à lire. Pour une lisibilité optimale, il est recommandé d'opter pour des lignes de 55 à 60 caractères, soit 9 ou 10 mots. Utilisez plusieurs colonnes ou, en dernier recours, augmentez légèrement l'interligne pour faciliter la lecture.
  • L'ajout de blancs accroît la clarté du document.
  • Faites ressortir les points importants à l'aide de retraits et de listes à puces. Pour faciliter la recherche des informations, utilisez des titres et sous-titres.
  • Évitez d'utiliser plus de deux familles de polices sur la même page. Une police à empattement et une police sans empattement créent généralement un ensemble agréable. Il est courant d'utiliser une police sans empattement pour les titres et une police à empattement pour le corps du texte.
  • Pour la mise en valeur de certains mots ou expressions, préférez l'italique et le gras aux majuscules. Un texte tout en majuscules est en effet difficile à lire.
  • La justification à gauche facilite la lecture et est moins formelle que la justification totale. Choisissez l'alignement en fonction du type de document.
  • Graphiques, illustrations et diagrammes enrichissent un document et contribuent à clarifier le texte. Pour séparer des blocs de texte, vous pouvez utiliser des lignes horizontales et verticales, mais n'en abusez pas.


Font finder tools

 

Browse fonts alphabetically

 

Browse fonts category

Fonts by Style
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Fonts by Use
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Fonts by Theme
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Fonts by Classification
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Devanagari
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Greek
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Font Designers
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Tips for type

Bullets

A single, consistently used graphic element can add flavor to your document and highlight key points. Instead of the standard bullet, look through the Symbol faces in the Classifications view for an ornament that matches your message. If your document is clean and simple and you have only a few bullet points, an ornament will add interest. Be careful not to clutter your document.

Hanging indents

  • When a bulleted or numbered list contains items that run to more than one line, it is common to "hang" the text from a bullet or number. A paragraph may also be hung from the first line of text (often with a run-in head of bold or italic) when no bullet or number is present. In either case, the hanging indent more clearly marks the item in the list.
  1. When a bulleted or numbered list contains items that run to more than one line, it is common to "hang" the text from the bullet or number. A paragraph may also be hung from the first line of text -- often with a run-in head of bold or italic -- when no bullet or number is present. In either case, the hanging indent more clearly marks the item in the list.
When a bulleted or numbered list
contains items that run to more than one line, it is common to hang the text from the bullet or number. A paragraph may also be hung from the first line of text (often with a run-in head of bold or italic) when no bullet or number is present. In either case, the hanging indent more clearly marks the item in the list.

Reversed text

Use white text on a black background sparingly, and never at small sizes.

Using styles

Styles are paragraph descriptors that specify, for example, what font to use and how much to indent. If your desktop publishing application supports styles, you can build a set to give all your documents a consistent look.

Also, when styles are applied to your documents, you can easily change the entire look of a document just by changing the style definitions.

Keeping it simple

Good document design is mainly a combination of common sense and keeping things simple. Look at attractive examples of documents that are similar to what you're trying to create. The following list explains some basic guidelines.

  • Long lines of text are hard to read. Generally, a line should have 55 to 60 characters, or 9 to 10 words. Try multiple columns or, if you are stuck with a long line length, increase the leading slightly to make it easier for the eye to move from line to line.
  • White space on the page makes your document cleaner and easier to read.
  • Use indents and bullets to highlight important points. Use headings and subheadings to help your readers find the information they're interested in.
  • Avoid using more than two type families on a page. Generally, one serif and one sans serif make a nice mix. Using the sans serif for headlines and the serif for body text is a common and familiar formula.
  • Use italics and bold to highlight words and phrases, rather than using all uppercase. All uppercase is hard to read.
  • Left justification can be easier to read and looks less formal than full justification. Pick the alignment that matches the tone of your document.
  • Graphs, pictures, and charts add interest to your documents and clarify your text. Horizontal and vertical lines can be used sparingly to break up blocks of text.

Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.