Microsoft UE-V Deployment

Microsoft User Experience Virtualization (UE-V) is a user state virtualization solution that provides users with a common product experience across devices. The solution targets enterprise environments where end users are likely to use multiple computers. Much like Roaming Profiles, UE-V allows settings on a primary computer to be synchronized with other machines when the user logs on. However, UE-V is far more granular, customizable, and performant. For an overview, see the Microsoft Video.

With UE-V, admins specify what registry preference hives and folder locations are monitored and synchronized. As end users make changes to preferences and files while using Acrobat products, the settings are captured and stored in a central location. These setting and file changes are then applied to other computers and devices that are accessed by the user. Adobe provides a basic template which defines default hives and folders, but you can customize this template or create a new one from scratch.

Licensing

UE-V supports both named user licensing (NUL) and serialized licensing.

System requirements

Acrobat DC products support the following:

  • UE-V 2.0

  • The server hosting UE-V should adhere to Microsoft’s system requirements

  • Acrobat DC or Reader DC system requirements

Deployment

For configuration and deployment details, refer to the Microsoft instructions. Topics include:

  • Install the UEV 2.x Generator

  • Deploy a Settings Template Catalog

  • Create Custom Settings Location Templates

  • Deploy the Custom Settings Location Templates

Note

Adobe provides a custom settings location template you can further modify.

Settings location template

Adobe provides default setting location templates at:

You can use the templates as is or customize them with the UE-V generator.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<SettingsLocationTemplate xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/UserExperienceVirtualization/2012/SettingsLocationTemplate">
      <Name>Adobe Acrobat DC</Name>
      <ID>Adobe-Acrobat-DC</ID>
      <Version>1</Version>
      <Author>
        <Name>Adobe Inc.</Name>
        <Email></Email>
      </Author>
      <Processes>
        <Process>
              <Filename>Acrobat.exe</Filename>
              <ProductVersion><Major Minimum="15" Maximum="15" /></ProductVersion>
              <FileVersion><Major Minimum="15" Maximum="15" /></FileVersion>
        </Process>
      </Processes>
      <Settings>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Identity</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AcroApp\cFavorites</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVConversionToPDF</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVConversionFromPDF</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\PaperCapturePlugin</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral\cFavoritesCommandsDesktop</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Comments</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral\cDockables</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path Recursive="true">Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Annots</Path></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral</Path><Name>bShowQuickTools</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral</Path><Name>bAllowDocsToHideUI</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral</Path><Name>iMaxMRUCntToBeStored</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral</Path><Name>bShowAnnotConector</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral</Path><Name>bPopupsScrollWithPage</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AVGeneral</Path><Name>bHidePopupIfShowSummary</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Originals</Path><Name>bOpenInPlace</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Originals</Path><Name>bSaveAsLinearized</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Originals</Path><Name>bHoveringPopups</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\Originals</Path><Name>iNoteOpacity</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\OptionalContent</Path><Name>bAutoSetLayers</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AutoSaveDocs</Path><Name>bAutoSaveDocsEnabled</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\AutoSaveDocs</Path><Name>iAutoSaveDocsInterval</Name></Registry>
        <Registry><Path>Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\DC\RememberedViews</Path><Name>iRememberView</Name></Registry>
        <File>
              <Root>
                <EnvironmentVariable>APPDATA</EnvironmentVariable>
              </Root>
              <Path Recursive="true">Adobe\Acrobat\DC\Sequences</Path>
        </File>
      </Settings>
</SettingsLocationTemplate>

Monitored settings

Note that in the example file above, only the Sequences folder in AppData is targeted for synchronization. Other locations which might be subject to synchronization include the following:

Reader

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\Adobe Synchronizer\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\CommonFiles\Usage\Reader\

  • %AppData%\Adobe\Acrobat\

Acrobat

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\Adobe Synchronizer\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\CommonFiles\Usage\Reader\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\Acrobat\PDFMaker\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\CommonFiles\Usage\Exchange-Base

  • HKCU\Software\Adobe\CommonFiles\Usage\Exchange-Pro

  • %AppData%\Adobe\Acrobat\

Unmonitored settings

Machine level settings under HKLM, including lockable settings cannot be included in this template. Because HKLM settings are not synchronized, admins must tune applicable machines as needed.