Comment rédiger un contrat de prestation de service ?

Les entreprises utilisent des contrats de prestation de service pour encadrer leurs accords à court terme ou de portée limitée. Apprenez à créer un contrat complet afin de pouvoir travailler avec des entrepreneurs indépendants ou des freelances.

A business owner talking on a phone

Qu’est-ce qu’un contrat de prestation de services ? 

Un contrat de services constitue un accord écrit entre un employeur et une personne chargée de remplir une mission d’une durée ou d’une portée limitée. Également connu sous le nom d’accord de service, ce type de contrat est un document juridique contraignant qui décrit les détails de la mission, la rémunération et d’autres informations pertinentes.

A business owner creating a contract for services on their laptop while sitting on the floor in front of their couch

Quand un contrat de services est-il nécessaire ?

Un contrat de prestation de services est utile pour confier une mission professionnelle à une personne sans en faire un employé à temps plein. Les services de conseil, les entrepreneurs indépendants, les sous-traitants ou les freelances peuvent tous demander un contrat de prestation de services.

Contrat de service et contrat de travail.

 

Malgré leur similitude pratique, ces deux contrats ont des objectifs totalement différents. Un contrat de service est utilisé pour engager quelqu’un pour une période temporaire ou une quantité limitée de travail, tandis qu’un contrat de travail n’a pas de durée prédéterminée. Un contrat d’entrepreneur indépendant serait un contrat de prestation de service, tandis qu’un employé intérimaire à temps plein nécessite un contrat de travail.

 

Contrat de prestation de services et contrat de fourniture de biens.

 

Un contrat de service est également différent d’un contrat de fourniture de biens utilisé pour la vente et la livraison de biens physiques plutôt que pour des services rendus. Ces deux types de contrats sont régis par des lois différentes. Veillez donc à choisir le contrat qui convient le mieux à la mission.

 

Faites signer vos contrats grâce à Adobe

A graphic of a contract for services on a mobile phone next to a graphic of a contract for services on a laptop

Quelles mentions votre contrat doit-il inclure ?

Chaque contrat de service sera légèrement différent, mais la liste suivante peut vous être utile pour composer les principales dispositions de votre contrat. Veillez à consulter la législation nationale, les lois en vigueur dans la région où vous exercez vos activités et toute autre loi applicable dans votre secteur. Et, comme toujours, veillez à consulter un avocat et à lui faire examiner l’ensemble de votre contrat avant de l’envoyer ou de le signer.

 

 

Description des services

Décrivez exactement les services que vous et votre entreprise recevrez. Soyez aussi détaillé et précis que possible. Énumérez minutieusement les services ou les résultats quantifiables pour que votre formulation reste concrète.

 

Conditions de paiement

Précisez quand et comment l’entrepreneur sera rémunéré. Si le paiement doit être échelonné selon un calendrier de paiement, notez les jours calendaires auxquels le prestataire de services peut s’attendre à être payé. Prévoyez une clause relative aux retards de paiements, afin d’éviter tout litige concernant les frais de retard ou les pénalités.

 

Droits de propriété

Si une propriété intellectuelle, telle qu’un logo, doit être créée dans le cadre du contrat, vous devrez décider qui conserve les droits de propriété intellectuelle de ce contenu pendant la mission et une fois celle-ci accomplie.

 

Clause de confidentialité

Une clause de confidentialité protège de l’exposition de tout secret commercial ou toute information confidentielle dont votre prestataire de services pourrait avoir connaissance dans le cadre de son travail. Cette clause doit également préciser les conséquences d’une violation de cette confidentialité.

 

Clause d’indemnisation

Une clause d’indemnisation sert de garantie ou d’exonération de responsabilité contre tout préjudice ou dommage matériel survenant pendant la durée du contrat. Une partie accepte de payer les honoraires, les frais juridiques et les autres coûts qui peuvent incomber à l’autre partie à la suite de la mission. Elle s’apparente à un accord de décharge de responsabilité, puisqu’une partie accepte d’exonérer l’autre partie de toute responsabilité éventuelle.

 

Modification

Une clause de modification permet au partenariat de se développer et d’évoluer au cours de l’accord. Si vous pensez vouloir éventuellement changer quelque chose par la suite, n’oubliez pas d’inclure une clause détaillant comment vous et votre prestataire de services pouvez apporter des modifications au contrat.

 

Résiliation

Cette clause indique comment les parties peuvent, en cas de nécessité, mettre fin à la relation et qui est responsable de la résiliation du contrat. Si l’une des parties viole les conditions du contrat, l’autre a besoin d’un plan de sortie, et c’est dans cette clause qu’il faut définir ce filet de sécurité.

 

Vous pouvez également ajouter une clause de divisibilité à votre contrat, qui stipule que si certaines parties du contrat sont jugées invalides ou illégales, les autres parties valides du contrat resteront intactes.

 

Résolution des litiges

Enfin, décidez de la façon de traiter les éventuels différends. L’arbitrage, la médiation ou l’intervention du tribunal sont les voies les plus courantes pour résoudre des conflits. En général, il est préférable d’opter pour le niveau d’intervention le plus bas possible afin de limiter les coûts et d’accélérer la résolution des litiges.

A business owner leaning back in their chair and taking a break from writing a contract for services on their laptop

Créez et signez des contrats numériques grâce à Adobe Acrobat Pro avec signature électronique.

 

Créez votre propre modèle de contrat avec Acrobat Pro, et découvrez comment les documents électroniques peuvent simplifier votre processus de création de contrat tout en vous faisant gagner du temps et de l’argent. Avec Acrobat, les deux parties peuvent simultanément visualiser, modifier et commenter les documents. Le processus de rédaction et de négociation est de ce fait plus rapide et plus efficace.

 

Lorsque le moment est venu de signer votre contrat, il vous suffit de l’envoyer pour signature en un clic. Suivez votre progression, signez sur l’appareil de votre choix et recevez une notification lorsque l’autre partie a signé le contrat.

 

Gagnez en efficacité grâce à Acrobat Pro avec signature électronique

À lire aussi…

A person standing at their desk creating an electronic signature on their laptop

Comment créer une signature électronique.

Adobe Sign vous accompagne en douceur dans votre transition vers les documents et signatures électroniques.

A person creating a promissory note on their laptop

Découvrez comment les entreprises transforment leur organisation administrative grâce à Acrobat Sign.

Lisez comment EDF a pu faire avancer sa stratégie de développement durable en supprimant les documents papier, comment l’IIM a su fluidifier et accélérer ses procédures administratives ou comment Silversea a optimisé le parcours de ses clients de A à Z.

Two people looking at a laptop together

En télétravail, votre appareil mobile prend toute sa valeur.

L’appli Acrobat Sign vous permet de recueillir les signatures de vos clients ou de vos employés, de gérer vos contrats et de conclure vos ventes lors de déplacements, mais aussi à l’issue de vos rendez-vous en présentiel.

A person standing at a desk using their laptop

Acrobat Sign pour un suivi efficace des documents contractuels.

Restez informé en temps réel des progrès de vos documents contractuels, automatisez les procédures et les échéances et ne perdez plus ni temps ni espace à organiser ou stocker vos archives contractuelles.

Comment respecter les normes juridiques et de conformité grâce à Acrobat Sign.

Legally binding e-sign experiences.

Suivi et gestion des signatures électroniques

Gérez parfaitement et en toute légalité vos signatures avec Acrobat Sign.

 

 

 

En savoir plus sur la valeur juridique d’une signature électronique

eSignature legality

La signature électronique en toute légalité

Acrobat Sign respecte toutes les obligations légales nationales et internationales.

 

 

 

En savoir plus sur les lois sur les signatures électroniques

Process transformation

Conformez-vous aux normes de votre secteur

Vous pouvez compter sur Acrobat Sign pour soutenir vos démarches de conformité.

 

 

 

En savoir plus sur la conformité des signatures électroniques

Prêts pour des procédés numériques de bout en bout ?

Peu importe à quel point du parcours vous êtes, faites votre prochain pas avec Adobe Document Cloud.

How to make a service agreement.

Businesses use a contract for service for short-term or limited-scope agreements. Learn how to create a thorough contract, so you can work with independent contractors or freelancers.

A business owner talking on a phone

What is a contract for services?

A contract for services is a written agreement between an employer and an individual to do work for a limited time period or of a limited scope. Also known as a service agreement, this type of contract is a binding, legal document that outlines the details of the job, compensation, and other pertinent information.

A business owner creating a contract for services on their laptop while sitting on the floor in front of their couch

When do you need a contract for services?

Use a contract for services when you need to hire someone for a job without making that person a full-time employee. Consulting services, independent contractors, subcontractors, or freelancers may all require a services agreement.

Contract for service versus contract of service.

 

Though their names are practically identical, these two contracts serve entirely different purposes. A contract for service is used to hire someone for a temporary time period or limited amount of work, while a contract of service is an indefinite employment contract. An independent contractor agreement would be a contract for service, while a full-time at-will employee would require a contract of service.

 

Contract for services versus contract for goods.

 

A contract for service is also different from a contract for goods, which is used for the sale and delivery of physical items rather than services rendered. The two are governed by different laws, so make sure to pick the contract that fits the job at hand.

 

Get contracts signed with Adobe

A graphic of a contract for services on a mobile phone next to a graphic of a contract for services on a laptop

What to include in your contract.

Each contract for service will look slightly different, but you can use the following list to build your essential sections. Make sure to consult federal law, the governing laws of the state in which you operate, and any other applicable laws in your industry. And, as always, be sure to seek legal advice from an attorney, and have them review your entire contract before you send or sign it.

 

 

Description of services

Lay out exactly what services you and your company will receive. Be as detailed and specific as possible. Include itemized lists or quantifiable outputs to help keep your wording concrete.

 

 

Payment terms

Describe when and how the contractor will be compensated. If reimbursement will take place on a payment schedule, make note of the calendar days the service provider can expect payment. Include a section on late payments, so there are no disputes over late fees or penalties.

 

 

Ownership rights

If any intellectual property, such as a logo, is to be created throughout the course of the contract, you will need to decide who retains the intellectual property rights of that content during the work and after the job is completed.

 

 

Confidentiality clause

A confidentiality clause protects from exposure any trade secrets or confidential information that your service provider may be privy to during the course of their work. This clause should also outline the consequences of a breach of confidentiality.

 

 

Indemnification clause

An indemnification clause is used as a kind of warranty or liability waiver against any harm or damages to property during the agreement. One party agrees to pay the fees, legal expenses, and other costs that may fall to the other party as a result of the work. It is similar to a hold harmless agreement, since one party agrees to hold the other harmless for any liability that may arise.

 

 

Amendment

An amendment section leaves room for the partnership to grow and evolve over the course of the agreement. If you think you might want to change something down the road, include a section that details how you and your service provider can make changes to the contract.

 

 

Termination

This section identifies how parties can end the relationship, if necessary, and who is responsible for the contract’s termination. If one party violates the terms of the contract, the other needs an exit plan, and this is the place to establish that safety net.

 

 

You may also want to add a severability clause to your contract, which states that if certain parts of the contract are found to be invalid or illegal, the remaining valid parts of the contract will stay intact.

 

 

Dispute resolution

Lastly, decide how you will handle disputes that may arise. Arbitration, mediation, or court intervention are the most common routes of dispute resolution. Generally, you’ll want to opt for the lowest possible level of intervention to keep costs down and resolve disputes faster.

A business owner leaning back in their chair and taking a break from writing a contract for services on their laptop

Make and sign digital contracts with Adobe Acrobat Pro DC with e-sign.

 

Make your own contract template with Acrobat Pro DC, and learn how e-docs can simplify your contract creation process while saving you time and money. With Acrobat, both parties can view, edit, and make comments on documents at the same time, which means a faster, more efficient drafting and negotiation process.

 

When it’s time to sign your contract, send it out for signature in one click. Track your progress, sign on any device, and get notified when the other party inks the deal.

 

Try Acrobat Pro DC with e-sign

You might also be interested in…

bill of sale

All you need to create a bill of sale.

Learn why you need a bill of sale, what yours should include, and how you can create a template to use for all of your future transactions.

edoc

Make paper work easier with e-docs.

Learn how electronic documents can streamline business processes and filing systems while ensuring simple and secure access to your partners.

A person creating a promissory note on their laptop

Create a promissory note that delivers.

No matter the loan, lender, or borrower, it’s always a good idea to put it in writing. Find out the information you need and the fastest, most reliable way to complete a loan contract.

Two people looking at a laptop together

W-9 tax forms: Simplifying the process.

Discover what a W-9 is and why both small and large businesses need to collect them. Learn how to simplify the process with e-signatures.

Meet legal and compliance standards with Adobe Sign.

Legally binding e-sign experiences.

E-signature requirements

Manage agreements and meet legal requirements with Adobe Sign.

 

 

 

Learn more about meeting legal requirements

eSignature legality

E-Signature legality

Adobe Sign meets the highest legal standards around the globe.

 

 

 

Learn more about e-signature law

Process transformation

Electronic and digital signature compliance

Depend on Adobe Sign to stay compliant — from anywhere.

 

 

Learn more about e-signature compliance

Ready for end-to-end digital processes?

No matter where you are in your journey, take the next step with Adobe Document Cloud.