Desktop app usage information FAQ

 
Last updated: May 3, 2018
 
Adobe’s Privacy Policy discloses how Adobe collects and uses personal information while using or interacting with our websites, products, and services. This FAQ provides additional information about how our desktop applications may collect and use your personal information.
You have the option to share information with Adobe about how you use our desktop apps (“usage information”). Usage information is associated with your Adobe account and allows us to provide you with a more personalized experience and improve product quality and features. You can change your preference at any time on your Adobe Account Management page.
 
Can I choose not to share information about how I use and interact with desktop apps?
Yes. You can choose not to share usage information by setting your preferences on your Account Management page.
This setting applies to how you use the features within desktop apps, not to the online services these desktop apps may connect with, such as Behance, Typekit, Document Cloud, or Creative Cloud. These usage information collected as part of the services are governed by their respective privacy policies and the Adobe Privacy Policy. For more information about opting out of online usage tracking, please review the “Your Privacy Choices” section within the Adobe Privacy Center. 
 
What information is shared and how does Adobe use it?
You have the option to share the following types of information about how you use and interact Adobe desktop apps:
 
  • System information, such as devices, operating system, amount of memory installed, and screen resolution;
  • Adobe product information, such as version number;• Information about your documents, such as number of pages, and unique document identifiers, (but not the content in your documents);
  • Document usage information such as how many times you open a document; and
  • How you interact with Adobe’s apps and how Adobe’s desktop apps interact with your content, including the features you use and the options you select.
 
This information is associated with your Adobe ID, and can be used to personalize the application experience, to help improve the product, and to communicate with you.
You can find an overview of how Adobe may use information associated with you in the Adobe Privacy Center.
 
What desktop apps offer this option?
  • Creative Cloud apps (as of 2014 release)
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements, Adobe Premiere Elements (as of version 13)
  • Acrobat Standard DC, Acrobat Pro DC (as of the 2017 release)
  • Adobe Photoshop Lightroom CC, Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 6
  • Adobe FrameMaker 2017
 
What options do enterprise and education users have for sharing information about how they use Adobe desktop applications?
 
Creative Cloud
When managing application installs via Creative Cloud Packager, or with enterprise IDs, the ability to share this information with Adobe is disabled for Creative Cloud for teams, Creative Cloud for enterprise, and Creative Cloud for education members, and cannot be enabled.
However, if administrators allow users to install Creative Cloud applications via Creative Cloud desktop, while using an Adobe ID, then users have the option to share information on how they use the applications. Users can change their preference at any time by visiting their Account Management page.

Photoshop Elements/Adobe Premiere Elements
When managing application installs through Adobe Volume Licensing, including for Education, the ability to share this information with Adobe is disabled and cannot be enabled.