HOME




© 2018 Adobe Inc. All rights reserved.

Updated Mar 20, 2019.

Online features

Miscellaneous features

To disable online features, such as automatic updates and registration of software, select one or more check boxes in the Online Features list. To retain a feature, clear the check box.

Disable updates

Choosing Disable product updates results in the following:

  • Removes the Check for Updates command from the Help menu
  • Disables automatic updates so that a manual update is required
  • Sets the following:
[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown]
"bUpdater"=dword:00000000

Load trusted root certificates

As part of the Adobe Acrobat Trust List program, Adobe periodically pushes vetted trust anchors (certificates) that can be used in digital signature workflows. In the Load trusted root certificates from Adobe drop down list, specify how trusted root certificates are loaded:

  • Enable & Ask before installing
  • Enable & Install silently
  • Disable

This preferences sets:

[HKCU\Software\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\Security\cDigSig\cAdobeDownload]
"bAskBeforeInstalling"

Internet Explorer behavior

Choose When launching PDF in Internet Explorer, prompt user with Open/Save dialog if users should see an open or save prompt when clicking a link to a PDF or FDF file. This preference sets AcroPDF.FDF.1\EditFlags.

Disable product upsell

Products that don’t provide the full set of features by default provide the user the opportunity to upgrade. For example, Reader users can purchase additional tools and features, and Acrobat Standard users can upgrade to Acrobat Professional. Check Disable product upsell to turn off this feature. This preference sets:

[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown]
"bAcroSuppressUpsell"

Note

For DC products, Upsell could not be disabled for users with a volume license. This bug was fixed in the July 2015 update.

Disable the sign out UI

If online features such as services are not enabled, there’s no point in showing any sign in or out UI. Check Disable Sign Out to turn off sign out user interface items. This preference sets:

[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown]
"bDisableSignOut"

Acrobat DC services integration

Adobe’s web services are rapidly evolving and allow your organization to increase its efficiency with zero infrastructure and management costs. Services integration also provide subscribers with additional product features.

Online services

_images/services.png

The following settings are available:

Disable all services. This new preference replaces the now deprecated HKCU services master switch bEnableAcrobatHS. It disables both updates to the product’s web-plugin components as well as all Adobe services, including the sign-in screen. The setting is not the same as bUpdater which resides directly under FeatureLockdown and disables product updates.

Note

In earlier versions of the Wizard there was a Wizard bug which required that bToggleWebConnectors be disabled manually via the registy. The web connector UI cannot be disabled with bUpdater. This bug was fixed in the January, 2015 release.

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bUpdater"=dword:00000000

Disable Adobe Document Cloud services. This preference disables and locks all service access except those features controlled by the other preferences below.

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bToggleAdobeDocumentServices"=dword:00000001

Disable Adobe Send for Signature. This preference disables and locks the Adobe Sign feature (formerly EchoSign).

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bToggleAdobeSign"=dword:00000001

Disable preference synchronization across devices: This preference disables and locks a new feature which synchronizes desktop preferences across devices on which the user is signed in with an Adobe ID (including phones).

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bTogglePrefsSync"=dword:00000001

Disable Fill and Sign: This preference disables and locks the Fill and Sign feature.

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bToggleFillSign"=dword:00000001

Disable Send and Track: This preference disables and locks the Send and Track feature.

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bToggleSendAndTrack"=dword:00000001

3rd party service integration

These settings disable 3rd party software integration and remove the Add Account item from the left-hand pane.

Connector integration

_images/3rdparty.png

Disable third party connectors such as Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.: This preference disables and locks a new feature which allows configuring in-product access to third party services for file storage.

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cServices]
"bToggleWebConnectors"=dword:00000001

Disable SharePoint connector: 1 disables SharePoint integration.

[HKLM\Software\Policies\Adobe\<product name>\<version>\FeatureLockdown\cSharePoint]
"bDisableSharePointFeatures"=dword:00000001