Accessibilité

Utilisation du caractère adéquat

La différence entre un document amateur et un document de qualité professionnelle tient parfois à peu de chose. Les rubriques suivantes abordent un certain nombre de règles typographiques qui sont fréquemment négligées ou mal appliquées.

Italique, gras et majuscules

Mieux vaut généralement éviter le soulignement. Il s'agit d'un reliquat des machines à écrire, qui n'intégraient pas l'italique. Si vous ne disposez pas du style italique approprié, vous pouvez opter pour le soulignement. L'italique est utilisé pour mettre l'accent sur du texte ou par convention pour les titres de livres, de périodiques ou de pièces de théâtre, par exemple.

Si vous souhaitez faire ressortir un élément, utilisez le gras sans oublier que le contraste attire l'attention. Une mise en pages de qualité se caractérise par la hiérarchisation claire des informations. Si vous mettez tout le texte en gras, rien ne ressortira.

Si vous voulez mettre du texte en valeur, évitez les majuscules. Elles sont moins lisibles que les minuscules et nuisent à la fluidité du texte. Si vous tenez aux majuscules, utilisez une police de petites capitales Adobe.

Utilisation correcte des guillemets

Les guillemets neutres (' et ") disponibles sur votre clavier sont généralement utilisés pour les unités de mesure en typographie anglo-saxonne. En typographie française, les guillemets « et » doivent être utilisés dans la plupart des cas.

Polices spécialisées

Adobe commercialise un certain nombre de polices spécialisées. D'usage moins courant, leurs caractères peuvent donner une touche de professionalisme à vos documents : chiffres elzéviriens, petites capitales, ornements, ligatures, etc. Les ligatures évitent, par exemple, les associations de caractères inesthétiques. Comparez ainsi les ligatures ff, fi, fl, ffi et ffl de la seconde ligne avec les caractères individuels de la première ligne.

Chiffres en majuscules et minuscules

Dans un texte en minuscules, mieux vaut insérer des chiffres en minuscules. Vous avez bien lu ! Il existe des polices de chiffres minuscules et des polices de chiffres majuscules.

Les chiffres minuscules sont souvent appelés chiffres elzéviriens et peuvent comporter des hampes supérieures et inférieures. Les chiffres majuscules conviennent parfaitement aux feuilles de calcul, mais ils sont généralement trop grands pour le corps d'un texte.

Petites capitales

Les petites capitales sont une version réduite des majuscules normales. Elles sont conçues pour produire une harmonie visuelle avec les minuscules, dont elles possèdent la couleur typographique.

Certaines applications permettent d'appliquer un style de petites capitales à un texte. Cela signifie généralement qu'elles réduisent le corps des majuscules normales à celui des minuscules. Le résultat est souvent trop clair, même si l'application tente d'atténuer le phénomène en élargissant les lettres, par exemple.

Les petites capitales sont utiles pour les en-têtes de section ou les titres de chapitre, pour mettre l'accent sur certains termes ou expressions ou pour introduire un paragraphe. L'utilisation de véritables petites capitales dans un document est un signe de professionnalisme.



Font finder tools

 

Browse fonts alphabetically

 

Browse fonts category

Fonts by Style
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Fonts by Use
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Fonts by Theme
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Fonts by Classification
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Devanagari
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Greek
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Font Designers
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Use the right character

The difference between an amateur document and a professional one can be a matter of details. The following topics cover some of the most commonly overlooked or incorrectly handled details of typography.

Italics, boldface, and uppercase

Normally you should avoid underlining text. Underlining is left over from typewriters, which lacked italics. Sometimes underlining is necessary when no adequate italic is available. Use italics for emphasis or for proper convention, such as the titles of books, periodicals, and plays.

If you want something to jump out on the page, try using boldface, but remember, contrast attracts attention. The best-designed pages display a clear hierarchy of information. If you make everything bold, nothing will stand out.

Avoid using all uppercase letters to emphasize text. They aren't as readable as lowercase letters and interrupt the flow of the text. When your document calls for all capitals, use one of the small capital typefaces available from Adobe.

Getting your quotation marks right

The neutral quotation marks (' and ") that are accessible from your keyboard are traditionally used to indicate units of measure. True, or directional, quotes (sometimes called curly quotes) should be used whenever possible.

Using the experts

Adobe sells a number of expert-set typeface collections. These collections contain many of the less frequently used characters that add a professional look to your documents, including old style figures, small caps, ornaments, and ligatures. For example, you can use f-ligatures, which eliminate awkward character combinations. Compare the ff, fi, fl, ffi, and ffl ligature combinations in the second line with the individual characters in the first line.

Upper- and lowercase numbers

When you are setting numbers with lowercase text, it is best to use lowercase numbers. That's right! Numbers come in upper- and lowercase versions.

The lowercase versions are often called old style figures, and they contain characters with ascenders and descenders. Uppercase numbers look fine in spreadsheets and in uppercase text, but look too large in body text.

Small capitals

Smaller versions of regular capital letters, called small capitals, are designed to be visually appealing with lowercase characters in a typeface — that is, they are drawn to have the same typographic color as the lowercase.

Some applications allow you to apply a small-capitals style to your text. This usually means that the application reduces the point size of full caps to about the height of the lowercase. The resulting letters are usually too light, even if the application does something fancy like horizontally expanding the type at the same time.

Small capitals are useful for section headings or chapter titles, to accent important words or phrases in mid-sentence, or at the beginning of a paragraph for a lead-in. True small caps are one sign of a truly professional job.

Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.