Accessibilité
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Esperluète


Fig.1 Graffiti pompéien, 79 après J.-C.


Fig. 2 Première scripte romaine, vers le milieu du IVème siècle


Fig. 3 Écriture gaélique, IXème siècle


Fig. 4 Minuscule carolingienne, 810 après J.-C.


Fig. 5 Minuscule humaniste, 1453 après J.-C.


Fig. 6 William Caslon, Londres, 1728


Fig. 7 Minuscule humaniste italienne, 1500


Fig. 8 Ludovico degli Arrighi, 1522


Fig. 9 Robert Granjon

À travers le signe esperluète (ou esperluette ou perluète), le typographe créant une nouvelle police de caractères est à même de révéler l'intégralité de ses talents artistiques. Son équivalent anglais ampersand, comme l'explique Geoffrey Glaister dans son ouvrage "Glossary of the Book", est le croisement de and (&) per se and, qui signifie littéralement "(le caractère) & lui-même (est le mot) et." Le signe abréviatif & est formé par la ligature des deux lettres du mot latin ET ou et.

L'un des premiers signes esperluète apparaît sur un fragment de papyrus datant de 45 après J.-C. Dans le style des premières capitales cursives romaines (typique de l'écriture de cette période), ce caractère illustre la ligature ET. Un graffiti pompéien de 79 après J.-C. (fig. 1) représente, lui aussi, l'association des majuscules E et T, toujours dans une écriture scripte du début de l'époque romaine. Sur des documents postérieurs, la cursive minuscule romaine apparaît moins formelle, plus déliée, annonçant l'italique d'aujourd'hui ; la présence de la ligature et (fig. 2) est plus fréquente. Si, au départ, la jonction des lettres capitales E et T est la résultante d'une écriture à la hâte, des manuscrits calligraphiques ultérieurs révèlent, au niveau de la partie médiane du E, plusieurs demi-cercles rejoignant délibérément le T au moyen d'un trait horizontal. Au final, cet arrangement s'apparente peu à peu à un symbole (fig. 3). Lorsque les scribes inventent la minuscule carolingienne vers 775 après J.-C, ils maîtrisent d'ores et déjà la ligature (fig. 4). En fonction de la vitesse d'écriture du calligraphe ou de son degré de perfectionnisme, à partir du VIIIème siècle, la combinaison des lettres E et T se rapproche de la ligature adoptée avec l'invention de l'imprimerie au début du XVème siècle (fig. 5).

La partie gauche de l'esperluète est constituée soit d'un e minuscule, soit d'un E majuscule composé de deux demi-cercles. Le délié oblique, fréquemment terminé en goutte (fig. 6), pourrait être un vestige du trait horizontal dans le E ou le e, ou encore l'un des traits le reliant au caractère suivant, technique adoptée par les calligraphes pour accélérer l'écriture. Par rapport à l'italique, la version romaine de l'esperluète ne rappelle guère le trait du t (fig. 7).

Aujourd'hui, le signe & fait partie intégrante des nouvelles polices de caractères et des alphabets latins existants. Ses variantes sont multiples, en particulier dans les italiques. Hormis sa forme & simple, que l'on retrouve dans le style romain, l'esperluète italique (influencée par la calligraphie) se veut nettement plus dynamique. Certaines polices de caractères possèdent de magnifiques esperluètes ; l'illustration (fig. 10) présente des versions italiques pour Garamond, Minion, Janson, Meridien, Baskerville et Caslon. Avec l'apparition des polices mécane et sans empattement au XIXème siècle, les fondeurs préfèrent la version latine de l'esperluète (&), en styles italique et romain (fig. 11).

Il existe de nombreuses variations intéressantes de l'esperluète, comme celles créées par le grand maître de l'écriture de la Renaissance, Ludovico degli Arrighi (fig. 8), ou le talentueux graveur français du XVIème siècle, Robert Granjon (fig. 9). La nouvelle famille de caractères Poetica, signée Robert Slimbach (Adobe) et basée sur Cancelleresca, écriture manuscrite commerciale (chancelière) datant de la Renaissance italienne, propose une riche collection de 58 esperluètes différentes (fig. 12).

L'utilisation de l'esperluète varie d'une langue à l'autre. En anglais et en français écrit, l'esperluète peut se substituer aux mots "et" et "et", les deux versions pouvant être employées dans un même texte. L'allemand autorise uniquement l'utilisation de l'esperluète dans les raisons sociales et titres officiels composés de deux noms distincts ; d'après les règles de la composition allemande, l'esperluète ne peut être employée dans du texte courant. Quelle que soit la langue, les qualités calligraphiques de l'esperluète en font un élément de création incontournable conférant à une page son attrait et sa personnalité.



Poetica®

Fig. 12

Max Caflisch, auteur de la police de caractères Columna, est écrivain et consultant en typographie ; il a été, 20 années durant, directeur général et professeur de typographie à la School of Arts and Crafts de Zurich (Suisse). La conception de son livre est reconnue au niveau international.

Références bibliographiques :

Jean Mallon, Robert Marichal, Charles Perrat : L'écriture latine de la capitale romaine à la minuscule. Arts et Métiers. Paris, 1939.

Geoffrey Ashall Glaister : Glossary of the Book. George Allen et Unwin Ltd. Londres, 1960.

Jan Tschichold : Formenwandlungen der & - Zeichen. D. Stempel AG. Francfort-sur-le-Main, o.J.

ABC. Blatter fur die Freunde der Bauerschen Giesserei, Nr. 7. Francfort-sur-le-Main, novembre 1955.



Font finder tools

 

Browse fonts alphabetically

 

Browse fonts category

Fonts by Style
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Fonts by Use
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Fonts by Theme
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Fonts by Classification
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Greek
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Font Designers
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

The ampersand


Fig.1 Pompeiian Graffiti, 79 A.D.


Fig. 2 Early Roman script, around the middle of the 4th century


Fig. 3 Scottish writing, 9th century


Fig. 4 Carolingian minuscule, 810 A.D.


Fig. 5 Humanist minuscule, 1453 A.D.


Fig. 6 William Caslon, London, 1728


Fig. 7 Italian Humanist minuscule, 1500


Fig. 8 Ludovico degli Arrighi, 1522


Fig. 9 Robert Granjon

When creating a new typeface, a designer can inject the most artistic flair into the ampersand character. The term ampersand, as Geoffrey Glaister writes in his "Glossary of the Book," is a corruption of and (&) per se and, which literally means "(the character) & by itself (is the word) and." The symbol & is derived from the ligature of ET or et, which is the Latin word for "and."

One of the first examples of an ampersand appears on a piece of papyrus from about 45 A.D. Written in the style of early Roman capital cursive (typical of the handwriting of the time), it shows the ligature ET. A sample of Pompeian graffiti from 79 A.D. (fig. 1) also shows a combination of the capitals E and T, and is again written in early Roman script. Later documents display a more flowing, less formal Roman lowercase cursive, which evolved into our italic, and the appearance of a ligature et (fig. 2) becomes more frequent. While the connection between the capital letters E and T was initially formed by writing quickly, later calligraphic manuscripts show the middle part of the E, consisting of semicircles, joined to the T by a more intentional, flowing horizontal line. Eventually, this tight combination began to look like one symbol (fig. 3). By the time scribes developed Carolingian minuscule about 775 A.D., the ligature had become a standard part of their repertoire (fig. 4). Depending on the writing speed or the calligrapher's concern for perfection, from the eighth century on, the combination of the letters E and T resembled the ligature that was adopted with the invention of printing in the early 15th century (fig. 5).

The lefthand portion of the ampersand is either a lowercase e or a capital E consisting of two semicircles. The oblique upstroke, often with a drop-shaped terminal (fig. 6), might be a leftover from the horizontal stroke in E or e, or it might have been one of the lines connecting to the next character, a technique preferred by calligraphers to increase the flow of writing. Compared to the italic form, the roman version of the ampersand in general shows only a meager remainder of the t-stroke (fig. 7).

Today, the & symbol is incorporated into the design of every new font and is a part of every existing roman alphabet. The variations of the ampersand are manifold, particularly in italics. Apart from the straightforward &, which appears in the roman style, italic-style ampersands - influenced by calligraphy - show livelier forms. Some typefaces have especially beautiful ampersands; the illustration (fig. 10) shows italic ampersands for Garamond, Minion, Janson, Meridien, Baskerville, and Caslon. With the appearance of slab serif and sans serif typefaces in the 19th century, typefounders preferred the roman version of the ampersand (&), in italic as well as roman styles (fig. 11).

There are many interesting variations of the ampersand, such as those created by the talented Ludovico degli Arrighi, the Renaissance writing master (fig. 8), and Robert Granjon, the gifted 16th century French type designer (fig. 9). The new Poetica typeface family, which was designed by Robert Slimbach of Adobe and based on Cancelleresca, the commercial writing hand used during the Italian Renaissance, offers a rich collection of 58 different ampersand characters (fig. 12).

Ampersand usage varies from language to language. In English and French text, the ampersand may be substituted for the words and and et, and both versions may be used in the same text. The German rule is to use the ampersand within formal or corporate titles made up of two separate names; according to present German composition rules, the ampersand may not be used in running text. In any language, the ampersand's calligraphic qualities make it a compelling design element that can add visual appeal and personality to any page.



Poetica®

Fig. 12

Max Caflisch, designer of the Columna typeface, is a design consultant and writer who, for 20 years, was managing director and professor of typography at the School of Arts and Crafts in Zurich, Switzerland. His award-winning book design is recognized worldwide.

Literature used for this article:

Jean Mallon, Robert Marichal, Charles Perrat: L'Ecriture latine de la capitale romaine a la minuscule. Arts et Metiers. Paris, 1939.

Geoffrey Ashall Glaister: Glossary of the Book. George Allen and Unwin Ltd. London, 1960.

Jan Tschichold: Formenwandlungen der & - Zeichen. D. Stempel AG. Frankfurt am Main, o.J.

ABC. Blatter fur die Freunde der Bauerschen Giesserei, Nr. 7. Frankfurt am Main, November 1955.

Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.