Photographiez le monde.

Bénéficiez des conseils de photographes professionnels pour capturer des panoramas, des paysages urbains et des portraits de personnes lors de vos voyages.

La grande muraille de Chine

Suivez vos envies de voyage.

Si vous voyagez pour prendre des photos de paysages, d’animaux sauvages ou de rues, c’est que vous êtes photographe de voyage. Comme la photographie documentaire, la photographie de voyage raconte une vérité sur la scène capturée. « C’est un moyen de partager ma vision du monde, explique Tiffany Nguyen, photographe de voyage professionnelle. Je me rends sur différents sites, j’observe le monde à travers mon objectif et je raconte des histoires avec la photographie. »

 

Commencez là où vous êtes.

Inutile de quitter votre travail et de vendre toutes vos possessions pour faire de la photographie de voyage. « Vous pouvez même commencer dans votre jardin, affirme Tiffany Nguyen. J’ai commencé petit avec des échappées pendant mes week-ends, puis je me suis améliorée, j’ai pris goût aux voyages et j’ai voulu aller plus loin, y compris à l’étranger. » Commencez par des lieux à proximité qui présentent un intérêt pour une prise de vue. Vous devez pouvoir vous y rendre en un après-midi. 

 

Cherchez un lieu.

En planifiant à l’avance votre escapade, vous gagnerez du temps et prendrez de meilleures photos. « Avant de vous rendre sur place, vous devez trouver la bonne source d’inspiration, explique Forrest Smith, photographe de voyage. Avant de partir, je crée une planche de tendances pour tenter de trouver la photo exacte que je souhaite réaliser. »

 

Tiffany Nguyen fait beaucoup de recherches sur Internet, consulte des blogs, Google Earth et des images Google. Elle s’inspire de différents angles et perspectives sur Instagram. « Les réseaux sociaux sont une excellente ressource, et j’utilise notamment les hashtags sur Instagram, confie-t-elle. Ils sont très utiles pour connaître les conditions réelles d’un lieu donné. Si je veux photographier une cascade, par exemple, découvrir qu’elle est à sec en arrivant serait une perte de temps. Je cherche donc le hashtag du nom de la cascade pour me faire une idée du niveau d’eau. »

 

Une recherche sur Internet vous informe non seulement des conditions météo, mais aussi de la popularité du site, de l’itinéraire pour vous y rendre et des heures auxquelles il est le moins fréquenté. « Je regarde combien d’heures de marche il faut pour s’y rendre, à quelle hauteur il se situe et s’il y a des obstacles ou complications auxquels je dois me préparer », indique Tiffany Nguyen.

Télécabine vers le sommet du glacier de Dachstein dans les Alpes autrichiennes
Vue aérienne d’un paysage urbain de nuit

Emportez des équipements appropriés.

Faites une liste pour ne rien oublier au moment de préparer votre sac photo. N’oubliez pas de prendre des batteries de rechange, une carte mémoire supplémentaire, une lampe frontale, des collations d’urgence, des vêtements de pluie, une bâche de protection pour votre matériel et plusieurs objectifs (si vous savez que vous allez beaucoup marcher, réfléchissez-y à deux fois avant de prendre un téléobjectif).

 

« Il est important de privilégier des équipements compacts et légers », conseille Tiffany Nguyen, qui utilise un appareil photo Sony sans miroir. Contrairement aux réflex numériques, les appareils photo sans miroir n’utilisent pas de miroir pour refléter l’image du viseur optique. « Ils ont des structures et des objectifs beaucoup plus petits, mais permettent de prendre des photos d’excellente qualité avec une très haute résolution », explique Tiffany Nguyen. Elle utilise plusieurs objectifs, notamment un objectif 24–70 mm f/2,8 et un objectif 16–35 mm f/2,8 pour les photos grand angle. Elle emporte un objectif fixe (à distance focale fixe) pour l’astrophotographie ou la photographie dans des conditions de faible luminosité, et un trépied léger en fibre de carbone. Si elle ne pense pas s’éloigner trop de sa voiture, elle emporte un téléobjectif 70–200 mm f/2,8.

 

Tiffany Nguyen et Forrest Smith emportent leurs drones pour réaliser des photos aériennes dans les zones où les vols de drones sont autorisés (ils ne le sont pas dans les parcs nationaux aux États-Unis). Pour son travail, Forrest Smith apprécie particulièrement son appareil photo réflex numérique Canon 5D Mark IV. Comme Tiffany Nguyen, il utilise un objectif 24–70 mm f/2,8. « Lorsque je pars toute la journée, je dois pouvoir réaliser des prises grand angle ou plus resserrées, alors j’emporte un objectif fixe 24 mm ou 100 mm », raconte Forrest Smith. Il emporte aussi des filtres neutres. « Ils sont parfaits pour photographier l’eau. »

Soleil perçant à travers l’ouverture d’une roche dans un paysage désertique

Choisissez le bon moment.

Lors de votre recherche, demandez-vous quels seront les meilleurs moments de la journée pour prendre vos photos et tenez compte du temps de trajet. « J’aime profiter de la lumière, notamment au moment de l’heure dorée ou du coucher du soleil, indique Tiffany Nguyen. J’essaie d’éviter les prises de vue en pleine journée, car l’éclairage brut nuit à la qualité des photos, et il y a davantage de monde sur les sites. » Pour photographier un paysage désert dans un endroit habituellement fréquenté comme un parc national, mieux vaut se rendre sur place avant le lever du soleil.

 

Soyez toujours à l’affût pour réaliser de superbes photos spontanées. « Vous devez être au bon endroit au bon moment, avec le bon état d’esprit, explique Forrest Smith. Gardez l’œil ouvert, car il y a toujours des histoires à raconter. Que vous soyez au cœur de la ville de New-York ou au milieu de nulle part dans l’Utah, il se passe toujours quelque chose et pour peu que vous y soyez attentif, vous pourrez raconter une histoire incroyable. »

 

Forrest Smith recommande d’avoir toujours un appareil photo sur soi, même un Polaroid ou la caméra de son smartphone, et de l’utiliser pour développer son œil créatif. « Que vous soyez dans un lieu emblématique ou dans votre quartier, vous pouvez trouver des compositions et des conditions d’éclairage adéquates. Les photos spontanées, prises sur le vif, racontent souvent de bien plus belles histoires que les prises de vue planifiées », indique-t-il.

 

Acceptez l’inattendu.

En voyage, l’imprévisibilité est de mise. Vous pouvez réaliser une photo tout à fait unique comme vous pouvez être coincé dans le brouillard ou sous la pluie. Essayez de ne pas vous décourager face à une météo défavorable, une route fermée ou un train manqué.

 

Mieux vaut prévoir un plan B, et même un plan C en cas d’échec du plan B. Ainsi, vous ne serez jamais démuni si les choses ne tournent pas comme prévu. « Ayez des attentes réalistes, car vous ne pouvez pas tout contrôler ; vous trouverez plus facilement une autre solution en faisant preuve de souplesse », conseille Tiffany Nguyen.

Fermière faisant sécher des feuilles au soleil

Racontez votre histoire.

Tous les photographes de voyage ont une histoire à raconter sur un lieu et une période. « Pour moi, la photographie de voyage est surtout une façon de partager son expérience en images, confie Forrest Smith. Vous montrez plus qu’un lieu ; vous reflétez la vie et partagez des moments authentiques. »

 

Ne craignez pas d’emprunter les sentiers battus. Même si les lieux que vous visitez ont déjà été photographiés des centaines ou des milliers de fois, vos photos et vos histoires sont uniques. « Dix photographes visitant le même site reviendront avec dix images complètement différentes, les retoucheront de dix façons et raconteront dix histoires, car chacun aura sa propre vision du lieu », indique Tiffany Nguyen.

Photo d’une famille préparant des tortillas à côté d'une photo d'un membre de tribu Maasaï
Photo de plusieurs mains prenant du riz à côté d’une photo d’une personne portant une tenue dorée de cérémonie

Conseils pour la photographie de voyage international.

Voyager à l’international ne s’improvise pas si vous voulez tirer le meilleur parti de votre temps. Mais vous devez aussi accepter le fait que tout ne peut pas être planifié. « La spontanéité est ce qui rend l’expérience si amusante et satisfaisante, déclare Tiffany Nguyen. Il y a certaines choses que nous ne pouvez pas planifier ou prévoir, donc vous devez vous adapter et faire avec ce que vous trouvez autour de vous. »

 

Approchez les populations locales et leurs coutumes avec l’esprit et le cœur ouverts. Essayez de prendre part à leur culture au lieu de l’observer de l’extérieur. « Ce sont les personnes qui font toute la différence. Elles ont leur propre histoire à raconter, et vous pouvez beaucoup apprendre d’elles », ajoute Tiffany Nguyen.

 

Soyez toujours respectueux. Si vous souhaitez prendre une personne en photo, parlez-lui. Apprenez à la connaître, puis demandez-lui l’autorisation. « La plupart du temps, elles sont très heureuses qu’on les prenne en photo et qu’on discute avec elles, raconte Tiffany Nguyen. Elles trouvent cela amusant, car ça ne leur arrive pas tous les jours. »

 

Entraînez-vous.

Pour progresser en photographie de voyage, il ne faut jamais cesser de bouger et de prendre des photos. « Donnez-vous le temps et les moyens de voyager, et prenez autant de photos que possible », poursuit Tiffany Nguyen. Enrichissez votre portfolio, et lorsque vous serez prêt à faire votre entrée sur le marché des professionnels, partagez des photos sélectionnées avec soin. Réfléchissez aux raisons pour lesquelles vous incluez chaque photo et aux compétences qu’elles vous permettront de démontrer .

Collines verdoyantes parsemées d’habitations sur fond de montagne enneigée
Collines verdoyantes parsemées d’habitations sur fond de montagne enneigée

Faites les bons choix de post-traitement.

Avec l’application de retouche photo Adobe Photoshop Lightroom, vos belles photos deviennent exceptionnelles. Si vous avez besoin d’ajuster la règle des tiers ou de redresser l’horizon de votre photo, vous pouvez très facilement effectuer ces modifications dans Lightroom. Vous pouvez aussi appliquer des paramètres prédéfinis pour corriger rapidement vos photos urbaines ou de la nature, ou suivre des tutoriels détaillés pour apprendre à accentuer la netteté d'une image ou encore à supprimer des objets indésirables.

 

Où que vous alliez avec votre appareil photo, gardez l’esprit d’aventure et acceptez que votre voyage comporte une part d’imprévisibilité. Soyez patient avec vous-même et votre environnement. À chaque prise, vous développez vos compétences en photographie et enrichissez votre histoire.

Contributeurs

Allez plus loin avec Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.

Retouchez facilement des photos avec les paramètres prédéfinis Lightroom et accédez à vos projets, où que vous soyez, grâce à la gestion du stockage des photos dans le cloud.

Ces contenus pourraient également vous intéresser…

Ville japonaise la nuit – conseils pour la photographie de nuit | Adobe

Tirer le meilleur parti de la photographie de nuit.
Découvrez pourquoi une faible luminosité n'est pas forcément synonyme de moindre qualité grâce à ces conseils pour réussir des photos de nuit.

Photographie de rue d'un motocycliste dans la pénombre

Maîtriser la photographie de rue

Appropriez-vous cette forme spontanée de storytelling et prenez des clichés qui racontent le quotidien.

Photographie d'architecture du Millennium Bridge et de la Cathédrale Saint-Paul

Explorer la photographie d'architecture, sous tous ses angles

Obtenez des conseils élémentaires pour photographier les intérieurs comme les extérieurs de bâtiments de toutes tailles.

Image alléchante d'un sandwich à l'avocat et au fromage frais

Conseils pour la photographie culinaire.

Explorez le monde de la photographie culinaire avec les conseils de professionnels du secteur.

Téléchargez Lightroom.

Retouchez et synchronisez vos photos dans le cloud avec tous vos appareils.

Gratuit 7 jours, puis 11,99 € par mois.

An example of travel photography. A photo of the Great Wall of China.

Photography

Travel photography tips for near or far.

Get travel photography tips from professional photographers so you can capture new landscapes, cityscapes, and portraits of people you meet on your journeys.

A 10,000-foot view of travel photography

  • Travel photography can be pictures of  landscapes, cities, architecture, or people on the street.
  • You don’t have to go far to start practicing — photograph interesting places close to where you live.
  •  To make a career of it, build an online portfolio of your best work.

Types of travel photography.

Travel photography can stretch across genres because you can take any type of photo when you travel. Depending on where you go and what you do, you can touch on everything from astrophotography to wildlife photography. As you travel, consider which aspects of your journey you want to focus on. 

Landscape photography.

The world is dotted with picturesque, compelling, and breathtaking sights. When you’re on a walk and you want to capture the feeling of the scenery you find, you can focus on landscape photography. Make sure to do your research before you go, be intentional about the time of day you want to shoot, and be sure to bring gear to protect yourself from the elements. 

A photo of a desert landscape.

City photography.

Capture the cityscape. From vast skylines to everyday life on the street, cities present wonderful subjects for experiments with perspective, texture, light, and color. Play with framing and vantage points, from the tops of buildings down to street level and below.

Architecture photography.

With architecture photography, you can explore the universal features and specific quirks of human-made structures wherever you go. Study a still subject like a building or a bridge to highlight the effects of weather or time of day, or to play with different vantage points. 

A photo of buildings in Santorini, Greece.

Street photography.

Once you’re on the street, you can focus less on the architecture and more on the people moving through the city. Capturing life on the ground is the goal of street photography— a style of visual storytelling that shows off and communicates the experience of everyday life. It’s vibrant and spontaneous, and you have to work with whatever light is available. Catch people as they move about their day to immerse yourself in the experience of a new city.

Top tips for travel photography.

Finding your way in the world of travel photography doesn’t have to be overwhelming or onerous. Discover how you can get started with these tips.

A photo of buildings in Chefchaouen, Morocco.

1. Follow your wanderlust.

No matter where your interest lies, if you travel for the shoot, it counts as travel photography. Like documentary photography, travel photography expresses some truth about the particular scene it captures. “For me, it’s just one way to share my perspective on the world,” says professional travel photographer Tiffany Nguyen. “I travel to different places, see the world through my lens, and tell stories through photography.”

2. Start where you are.

You don’t need to quit your day job and sell all your possessions to make travel photography. “I would just start in your own backyard,” Nguyen says. “I started small, doing short, weekend trips, and then when I got more comfortable traveling and better at photography, I wanted to take it to the next level and do more international locations.” Begin with a list of places nearby that might be interesting to shoot. Find locations you can get to in an afternoon. 

3. Research the location.

You can save yourself time and effort, and get better pictures, if you plan ahead. “Having the right inspiration before you get there is really key,” says travel photographer Forrest Smith. “Before I go, I like to build a moodboard to try to find the exact shot that I want.”

 

Nguyen does a lot of internet research, looking at blogs, Google Earth, and Google images. She scouts Instagram for different angles and perspectives. “I also find that social media is a huge resource, especially using hashtags on Instagram,” she says. “They’re really helpful for finding live conditions at a certain location. For example, if I go to a waterfall, I don’t really want to waste my time trying to get water photos if the waterfall is dry. So I’ll search the hashtag of the waterfall name to get an idea of the water level.”

 

In addition to weather conditions, your internet research can tell you how popular the location is, how to get there, and what times might be the least crowded. “I’m looking for the length of the hike, the elevation gain, any obstacles or challenges that are going to come my way,” says Nguyen.

A photo of a gondola lift on a mountain.
An aerial photo of New York City at night.

4. Bring the right equipment.

Make a checklist so you don’t forget anything as you pack your camera bag. Include things like extra batteries, an extra memory card, a headlamp, emergency snacks, rain gear, protective cover for your photographic equipment, and extra lenses. (If you know you’ll do a lot of walking, make sure you really want that telephoto lens before you bring it.)

  

“For me it’s important to have compact, lightweight equipment,” says Nguyen, who uses a mirrorless Sony camera. Unlike DSLR cameras, mirrorless cameras have no mirror to reflect the image to the optical viewfinder. “Their bodies and lenses are much smaller than the DSLR cameras, but they’re still super-high quality, super-high resolution,” Nguyen says. She uses several lenses, including a 24–70mm f/2.8 lens and a 16–35mm f/2.8 lens for wide-angle shots. She’ll bring a prime lens (a lens of fixed focal length) for astrophotography or low-light photography, and a lightweight carbon-fiber tripod. If she’s going to be close to her car, she’ll bring a 70–200mm f/2.8 telephoto lens.

 

Both Nguyen and Smith will bring drones for aerial shots if they know they’re going somewhere drones are allowed to fly. (Drones are not allowed in US national parks.) The best camera for his work, Smith says, is a Canon 5D Mark IV DSLR. Like Nguyen, he uses a 24–70mm f/2.8 lens. “If I’m going out for the day, I like to have something wide and something more cropped, so I’ll bring my 24mm prime or my 100mm prime,” Smith says. He’ll also bring neutral density filters. “They’re really great to have if you’re photographing water.”

A photo of a sunset on a desert landscape.

5. Get the timing right.

Part of your research should include finding the best times of day to shoot and factoring in travel time. “I like to take advantage of the light, so I like to shoot at golden hour or sunset,” Nguyen says. “I try to avoid shooting at midday because the harsh lighting doesn’t look good for photos and there are more people out.” If you want to shoot an empty landscape in a typically busy place like a national park, you may want to get to the location before sunrise.

 

Always be on the lookout for great shots that you haven’t planned. “You have to be in the right place at the right time with the right attitude,” says Smith. “Keep an eye out because there are always stories to be told. Whether you’re in the heart of New York City or the middle of nowhere in Utah, there are always things happening that, if you’re attentive to them, you can use to tell an incredible story.”

 

Smith recommends keeping a camera with you at all times, even if it’s just a Polaroid or the camera on your smartphone, and using it to develop your creative eye. “Whether you’re at an iconic location or you’re just walking around your neighborhood, look for compositions and good lighting. Those off-the-hip, spur-of-the-moment photographs often tell a more incredible narrative than the super-planned shots do,” he says.

6. Accept uncertainty.

Travel is all about unpredictability. You might stumble upon a once-in-a-lifetime shot, or you might get fogged in and rained on. Try to roll with the punches when you encounter frustrating weather, find a road closed, or miss a train.

 

It helps to have backup plans and even backup plans for your backup plans. That way, you’re never at a complete loss for what to do if things go wrong. “Be realistic with your expectations and with things that you can’t control; it’s just a lot easier to be flexible and try to find a different plan,” Nguyen says.

A photo of a farmer laying out their harvest to dry.

7. Focus on telling stories.

Every travel photograph has a story to tell about a time and place. “Being able to bring people along for your journey through your images is the most important part of travel photography for me,” says Smith. “You want to be able to not just show the location but breathe life into it and find those authentic moments.”

           

Don’t be afraid to tread the beaten path. Even if you travel to places that have been photographed by hundreds or thousands of people, your photos and your stories will be unique. “You can have ten different photographers go to the same location, but you’ll come back with ten completely different images, ten different edits, and ten different stories, because everyone sees the locations differently,” says Nguyen.

A photo of people making tortillas next to a photo of a person wearing traditional cultural clothing.
A photo of hands grabbing rice next to a photo of a person wearing a gold ceremonial outfit.

8. International travel photography tips.

International travel involves a lot of planning because you want to make the most of your time. But it’s also important to accept that you can’t plan every moment. “Part of the experience that’s so fun and rewarding is how spontaneous it can be,” says Nguyen. “You never know where you’ll run into things you just can’t plan out or predict, so you just have to just go with the flow and work with what you find around you.”

 

Approach local people and their customs with an open mind and heart, and try to participate in their culture instead of just observing it from outside. “The people make the big difference. They have their own stories to tell, and you can learn a lot from them,” says Nguyen.

 

Remember to always be respectful. If you want to take a photo of someone, talk to them. Get to know them a bit, and then ask for permission. “A majority of the time, they’re more than happy for you to take their photo and maybe talk, too,” Nguyen says. “People think it’s fun because it’s not something that happens every day.” 

Edit, organize, store, and share photos from anywhere.

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

9. Family travel photography tips.

You can apply all the tips above to the family photos you take on your travels. Just remember to be patient, do your best to cultivate patience in your family members, and be sure to pack a tripod and remote so you can capture the whole group at once.

 

If you have specific staged shots in mind, communicate your ideas ahead of time. It might help to share some inspirational photos from Pinterest or Instagram to get buy-in from every member of the family. If you have young children (or teenagers) be prepared to bribe them to cooperate.

 

Otherwise, focus on taking candid shots of your family members. Like people, candid photography can be unpredictable. You have to read the room, adapt, and give up control, but you might perfectly capture the experience of family travel with a mix of shots that cover everything from excitement to exhaustion, unfettered joy to unequivocal irritation.

10. Practice.

The best way to get better at travel photography is to keep going places and taking photos. “Put in the time and effort, show up and shoot as much as you can,” Nguyen says. Keep building your portfolio, and when you’re ready to look for work in the photography business, be selective about the photos you share. Be sure that you know why you’re including each photo and what skills you want to showcase with it.

A raw landscape photo, pre-processing.
A landscape photo, post-processing. The picture is brighter and the colors are more vibrant.

11. Make the right moves in post-processing.

With Adobe Photoshop Lightroom photo editing software, you can take your photos from good to great. If a photo just needs a nudge toward the rule of thirds, or your horizon needs leveling, you can easily make those changes in Lightroom. You can also apply presets for fast fixes to urban photos and nature photos or follow step-by-step tutorials to learn how to do everything from image sharpening to removing unwanted objects.

 

Wherever you go with your camera, remember to embrace the adventure and the uncertainty that goes along with it. Be patient with yourself and your surroundings. With every photo you take, you’re practicing your photography skills and adding to your story.   

Turn travel photography into a career.

To turn your passion for travel photos into a career, start by taking a lot of photos and collecting your best work. If you’re committed and willing to think outside the box, you can start your own photography business.

 

  • Pay attention to costs.
    You may already have camera gear and a computer, but you’ll also have to spend money on photo editing software and travel.
  • Create a portfolio.
    Clients have to see your work before booking, so create a portfolio specific to your audience and your niche.
  • Market yourself.
    One key part of turning your photography into a business is paying attention to marketing and branding. Establish an aesthetic and a point of view, so potential clients can have a sense of what they’re getting when they work with you.
  • Think unconventionally.
    Many tropical paradises are oversaturated with people who want to travel and take photos of picturesque landscapes. A great place to start is by contacting bed and breakfasts, smaller hotels, and other businesses trying to attract visitors. Link them to your portfolio and see if they’re interested in providing lodging or a small per diem to photograph their resort.
  • Treat every trip as an opportunity.
    If you’re interested in travel photography, you've likely already been bitten by the travel bug. Whenever you take a trip, take some time to build your portfolio. Professional photography can be a nomadic lifestyle with inconsistent income, so embrace a mindset of working wherever you are and being open to new opportunities. 

Finally, remember that careers are not made overnight, and every small step you take as a travel photographer is moving you closer to the goal of adopting it as your career. Good luck, and happy trails. 



Share this article

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

Do more with Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.

You may also like

Please make sure that the "dexter.base.react.umd" and "dexter.base.consonantcardcollection" clientlibs have been added to the template's Page Policy