Accessibilité

Formats de police

Définition de PostScript

Adobe® PostScript® 3™* est le standard mondial d'impression et d'imagerie. À l'origine, le langage de programmation PostScript créé par Adobe Systems avait pour but de transmettre des instructions d'impression graphique complexes aux imprimantes numériques. À présent, il est intégré à de nombreuses imprimantes laser pour optimiser le rendu des graphismes pixellisés et vectoriels.

Le langage PostScript se distingue, entre autres, par son indépendance des périphériques. Il permet ainsi de produire des images de qualité, quels que soient la résolution et le mode de rendu des couleurs du périphérique, et tire pleinement parti des fonctionnalités de ce dernier. Le format Adobe PDF (Portable Document Format) est un dérivé plus structuré et plus compact du langage PostScript. Tout ce qui est réalisable avec le langage PostScript l'est également avec le format PDF.

Les polices Type 1 sont une forme spéciale du programme PostScript ; il s'agit du format de fichier original utilisé pour l'affichage des polices sur toutes les imprimantes PostScript. Le langage PostScript a ensuite été enrichi pour gérer les normes TrueType et OpenType®. Tous les nouveaux périphériques Adobe PostScript fabriqués aujourd'hui prennent en charge ces trois normes.

Définition de Type 1

Adobe PostScript Type 1 est une norme mondiale de polices de caractères numériques (norme de polices vectorielles de l'International Standards Organization, ISO 9541). Mise au point par Adobe Systems, cette norme était destinée aux imprimantes PostScript. Bien qu'Adobe soit à la pointe de la conception et du développement de logiciels Type 1 et assure la gestion des normes associées, des centaines de sociétés dans le monde ont élaboré et commercialisé plus de 30 000 polices au format Type 1.

Le format Type 1 est reconnu par toutes les plates-formes informatiques, des micro-ordinateurs aux mainframes. Il est pris en charge par la quasi-totalité des imprimantes, soit directement grâce à l'interpréteur de langage PostScript intégré, soit par le biais de modules d'extension tels qu'Adobe Type Manager® (ATM®). La technologie ATM est intégrée aux systèmes d'exploitation Microsoft® Windows® 2000 et Mac OS X. Depuis plus de 10 ans, Type 1 est le format privilégié des secteurs de la publication et des arts graphiques.

Définition de TrueType

TrueType est une norme de polices de caractères numériques mise au point par Apple Computer et dont les droits de licence ont été concédés ultérieurement à Microsoft Corporation. Chacune des deux sociétés a enrichi cette norme, utilisée aussi bien sous Windows que sur Macintosh. À l'instar de Type 1, le format TrueType permet de développer de nouvelles polices.

Définition d'OpenType

OpenType est une nouvelle norme de polices de caractères numériques, développée conjointement par Adobe et Microsoft. OpenType remplace les extensions TrueType Open de Microsoft par le format TrueType. Les polices OpenType peuvent regrouper des données vectorielles PostScript ou TrueType dans une enveloppe commune. Une police OpenType est un fichier qui peut être utilisé aussi bien sur Macintosh que sous Windows, sans aucune conversion. Les polices OpenType possèdent de nombreux avantages par rapport aux autres formats de police : elles comportent plus de glyphes, prennent en charge un plus grand nombre de langues (OpenType utilise la norme de codage Unicode) et offrent des fonctions typographiques évoluées — petites capitales, chiffres elzéviriens et ligatures — le tout au sein d'une même police.

À commencer par Adobe InDesign® et Adobe Photoshop®, les applications Adobe prennent désormais en charge les fonctions de présentation OpenType. Il suffit ainsi d'appliquer une mise en forme au texte pour bénéficier de fonctions telles que les chiffres elzéviriens ou les petites capitales. Dans la plupart des applications qui ne gèrent pas activement ces fonctions, les polices OpenType se comportent comme toutes les autres, hormis que les fonctions de présentation OpenType ne sont pas disponibles.

Les polices OpenType avec vecteurs PostScript sont prises en charge par les toutes dernières versions d'Adobe Type Manager ainsi que par Windows 2000 en mode natif. Apple a également annoncé son intention de prendre en charge OpenType et fournit d'ores et déjà des polices système japonaises pour Mac OS X au format OpenType avec vecteurs PostScript.

Pourquoi choisir des polices de caractères Adobe ?

Les polices Adobe offrent les avantages suivants :

  • Qualité optimale — le personnel hautement qualifié d'Adobe analyse et teste chaque caractère créé. Vous êtes par conséquent assuré que les polices originales sont conçues avec le plus grand soin et que celles converties à partir de typothèques de renommée mondiale sont fidèles au concept de leur fonderie d'origine. Les soins apportés à l'élaboration des polices vectorielles permettent une reproduction précise et détaillée des points les plus infimes de chaque caractère, quelle que soit la résolution de votre moniteur, imprimante, photocomposeuse ou enregistreur de films. La qualité typographique se mesure à l'aune des polices de caractères Adobe, privilégiées par les professionnels du graphisme et de l'impression.
  • Un choix immense — La typothèque Adobe comprend plus de 2 750 polices de caractères, soit l'un des plus grand choix de fontes de qualité. Les polices « Adobe Originals » sont élaborées par des créateurs contemporains primés, alors que de nombreuses autres sont concédées sous licence par les plus grandes fonderies du monde.
  • Richesse des fonctions typographiques — De nombreuses polices Adobe offrent des jeux de caractères spécialisés : chiffres elzéviriens, petites capitales, ligatures et autres variantes indispensables aux typographes professionnels. En fait, Adobe est l'inventeur du « jeu spécialisé », jeu et codage standard de nombreux caractères supplémentaires. Avec OpenType, Adobe intègre ces caractères supplémentaires à la police de base, ce qui permet aux applications compatibles avec OpenType telles qu'Adobe InDesign et Adobe Photoshop 6.0 d'y accéder automatiquement par le biais d'une simple mise en forme.
  • Avance technologique — ce n'est pas un hasard si Adobe Systems est le numéro un de la conception et de la production typographiques numériques. Ses ingénieurs et concepteurs travaillent sans relâche à l'amélioration de la technologie qui, avec le format Type 1, a donné naissance à des polices de caractères numériques de grande qualité. En collaboration avec Microsoft, Adobe a mis au point OpenType, mettant ainsi fin à la « guerre des polices » entre TrueType et PostScript Type 1 et introduisant de nouvelles fonctionnalités typographiques avancées.


Font finder tools

 

Browse fonts alphabetically

 

Browse fonts category

Fonts by Style
Style Index
Blackletter
Brush
Calligraphic
Casual
Chiseled
Contrast – High
Contrast – Low
Copperplate
Engraved
Geometric
Handtooled
Handwritten
Heavy
Initials
Inline
Light – Thin
Mono
Narrow
Ornaments
Outline
Picture
Script
Stencil
Swashes
Wide
Woodcut
Fonts by Use
Use Index
Advertise
Announcements
Annual Reports
Architecture
Awards
Banners
Body Text
Business Cards
Catalogs
Dictionaries
Greeting Cards
Headlines / Titles
Invitations
Logos
Manuals
Maps
Menus
Music
New Releases
Newsletters
Packaging
Phone Directories
Resumes
Schedules
Signage
Small Settings
Video Titling
Web Pages
Fonts by Theme
Theme Index
Cartoon
Children
Classical
Computer
Contemporary
Decorative
Distressed
Dynamic
Elegant
Futuristic
Historical
Humorous
Industrial
Informal
Novelty
Old West
Primitive
Retro
Scary
Sexy
Fonts by Classification
Classification Index
Adobe Originals
Arabic
Blackletter
Capitals
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Computer Related
Cyrillic
Cyrillic Extended
Decorative/Display
Devanagari
Didone
Expert
Garalde
Glyphic
Greek
Gujarati
Gurmukhi
Hebrew
Inline
Japanese
Korean
Mathematical
Mono
OpenType Pro
Opticals
Ornaments
Phoenetic
Sans Serif
Small Caps/Old Style
Script
Slab Serif
Swash
Symbol
Tamil
Thai
Transitional
Venetian
Font Designers
Designers Index
Akira Kobayashi
Alan Blackman
Carl Crossgrove
Carol Twombly
Christopher Slye
Cleo Huggins
Craig Frazier
David Březina
David Siegel
Fernando Mello
Fiona Ross
Jeremy Tankard
Jim Parkinson
Jim Wasco
Joachim Muller-Lance
John Benson
John Hudson
Jovica Veljovic
Joy Redick
Julian Waters
Lance Hidy
Laurie Szujewska
Lynne Garell
Mario Feliciano
Mark Jamra
Masahiko Kozuka
Michael Harvey
Michael Want
Min Wang
Paul D. Hunt
Richard Lipton
Rick Cusick
Robert Slimbach
Ryoko Nishizuka
Tim Holloway
Timothy Donaldson
Thomas Phinney
Viktor Solt-Bittner

Accessibility
Adobe
Sign in Privacy My Adobe

Font formats

What is PostScript?

Adobe® PostScript® 3™ is the worldwide printing and imaging standard. The PostScript programming language was originally developed by Adobe Systems to communicate complex graphic printing instructions to digital printers. It is now built into many laser printers for high-quality rendering of both raster and vector graphics.

An important feature of the PostScript language is that it is device independent. This means that it produces good-looking images regardless of the resolution or color rendering method of the output device, and it takes full advantage of the capabilities built into the device. The Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) is a more structured, compact subset of the PostScript language. Almost anything that can be done in PostScript can be done in PDF.

Type 1 fonts are a specialized form of PostScript program and are the original file format used for type display on all PostScript printers. The PostScript language was later extended to provide support for the later TrueType and OpenType® font standards. Any new Adobe PostScript language device made today supports all three font standards.

What is Type 1?

Adobe PostScript Type 1 is a worldwide standard for digital type fonts (International Standards Organization outline font standard, ISO 9541). It was first developed by Adobe Systems for use in PostScript printers. Although Adobe is a leader in the design and manufacturing of Type 1 software and maintains the standards for Type 1, hundreds of companies around the world have designed and released more than 30,000 fonts in the Type 1 format.

The Type 1 font format is recognized on every computer platform, from microcomputers to mainframes. It prints on virtually every printer, either directly through built-in PostScript language interpreting, or through add-on utilities, such as Adobe Type Manager® (ATM®). ATM technology is integrated into Microsoft® Windows® 2000 and Mac OSX operating system. For more than a decade, Type 1 has been the preferred format for the graphic arts and publishing industries.

What is TrueType?

TrueType is a standard for digital type fonts that was developed by Apple Computer, and subsequently licensed to Microsoft Corporation. Each company has made independent extensions to TrueType, which is used in both Windows and Macintosh operating systems. Like Type 1, the TrueType format is available for development of new fonts.

What is OpenType?

OpenType is a new standard for digital type fonts, developed jointly by Adobe and Microsoft. OpenType supersedes Microsoft's TrueType Open extensions to the TrueType format. OpenType fonts can contain either PostScript or TrueType outlines in a common wrapper. An OpenType font is a single file, which can be used on both Macintosh and Windows platforms without conversion. OpenType fonts have many advantages over previous font formats because they contain more glyphs, support more languages (OpenType uses the Unicode standard for character encoding,) and support rich typographic features such as small caps, old style figures, and ligatures — all in a single font.

Beginning with Adobe InDesign® and Adobe Photoshop® 6.0, applications have begun to support OpenType layout features. OpenType layout allows you to access features such as old style figures or true small caps by simply applying formatting to text. In most applications that do not actively support such features, OpenType fonts work just like other fonts, although the OpenType layout features are not accessible.

OpenType with PostScript outlines is supported by the latest versions of Adobe Type Manager, and is natively supported in Windows 2000. Apple has also announced its intent to support OpenType, and supplies Japanese system fonts for Mac OS X in OpenType form with PostScript outlines.

Why choose Adobe type?

Adobe type offers the following benefits:

  • Highest quality — Adobe's highly trained staff analyzes and tests every character as it is created, so you can be sure that original typefaces are expertly crafted, and typefaces converted from world-renowned libraries remain true to the foundry design. Careful attention to detail of font outlines allows the finer points of each character to be imaged as sharply and accurately as possible for the resolution of your monitor, printer, image setter or film recorder. Adobe type is the standard by which type quality is measured — preferred by professional graphic designers and printing service bureaus.
  • Great selection — The Adobe Type Library offers more than 2,750 typefaces — one of the largest selections of high-quality typefaces. Adobe Originals designs are crafted by award-winning contemporary type designers, while many others are licensed from the oldest and most respected type foundries in the world.
  • Typographic refinements — Many Adobe typefaces offer companion expert sets, old style figures, small caps, ligatures, and other variations required for professional typography. In fact, Adobe invented the "expert set," a standard character set and encoding for many supplementary characters. With OpenType, Adobe is folding such additional characters into the base font, allowing OpenType-savvy applications such as Adobe InDesign and Adobe Photoshop 6.0 to automatically access the characters via simple formatting.
  • Technological leadership — Adobe Systems is the leader in the field of digital typographic production and design for good reason. The engineers and designers at Adobe Systems constantly strive to improve the technology that gave birth to high-quality digital type with the Type 1 format. With Microsoft, Adobe has now developed OpenType — ending the TrueType vs. PostScript Type 1 "font wars," and introducing advanced new typographic features.

Font Finder: Find the perfect font for any assignment

Font Categories Browse fonts by category
Font Collections Explore the beauty and breadth of the Adobe Type Library
Font designers Meet the designers behind Adobe fonts
Resources Learn more about Adobe fonts

Adobe Font Folio Education Essentials - The essential font collection for design education.  Buy now.